Skip to main content
Skip Navigation

Finding Tests and Measurements: Finding Tests

A pathfinder to identifying and finding tests and measures in the social sciences.

Other Sources

Simply put, unpublished tests have not been commercially published. Occasionally, we can find them in journals. The two sources listed below will point you in the direction of tests and measurements published in journals.

Goldman, Bert Arthur and John L. Saunders. Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. New York: Human Sciences Press, 1990.

These volumes cite unpublished, experimental tests appearing in journals in psychology, sociology, education and interdisciplinary social science journals. Coverage is limited to US journals from 1970-1997. Entries provide a brief description, and a reference to the journal in which it appeared. Later volumes have a cumulative index. Instruments are categorized by general type and supplemented by author and subject indexes. Call Number: 152.8 G619d, v.1-9 - First Floor, Reference Collection

Chun, K. T., Cobb, S., and French, J. R. P., Jr. (Eds.) Measures for Psychological Assessment: A Guide to 3,000 Original Sources and Their Applications. Ann Arbor, MI: Institute for Social Research, 1975.

A comprehensive bibliography of the tests and measurements available in 26 psychology and sociology journals published from 1960-1970. Call Number: 016.15018 C559m - Third Floor

Selected Tests and Measurements Sources

Below is a selected listing of books in the OSU Library where you can find tests and measures full-text, often including the scoring key.

Corcoran, Kevin and Joel Fischer. Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook, 5th ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 2013, 2 vol.

This two volume proclaims that it will "provide practitioners and students with a number of instruments that they can use to help them monitor and evaluate their practice." Measures selected because they measure common problems, are relatively short and easy to score and administer. Volume one covers tests for couples, families and children, while volume two covers measures for adults with problems outside of the family. Texts of tests are available. There is an alphabetical table of contents by title for each category of measurement, as well as a cross-reference listing by problem measured. Call Number: 616.89075 F529m 20137 - First Floor, Reference

Corcoran, Kevin and Joel Fischer. Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook, 4th ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 2007, 2 vol.

        Call Number: 616.89075 F529m 2007 - Basement

Corcoran, Kevin and Joel Fischer. Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook, 3rd ed. New York: Free Press, 2000, 2 vol.

Call Number: 616.89075 C793m 2000 - Basement

Corcoran, Kevin and Joel Fischer. Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook, 2nd ed. New York: Free Press, 1994, 2 vol.

Call Number: 616.89075 C793m 1994 - Basement

Corcoran, Kevin and Joel Fischer. Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook. New York: Free Press, 1987.

First section provides a helpful background on selecting and administering tests. Next part gives an overview of the basic principles of measurement. Reproduces 127 test for couples, families and children. Texts of tests are available. There is an alphabetical table of contents by title for each category of measurement, as well as index in the back. Call Number: 616.89075 C793m - Basement

Antonak, Richard F. and Livneh, Hanoch. Measurement of Attitudes Toward People With Disabilities: Methods, Psychometrics, and Scales. Springfield, IL: C.C. Thomas. 1988.

Covers measurements of attitudes toward people with disabilities. Call Number: 305.90816 A634m - Third Floor


Fisher, Terri D., Davis, Clive M., Yarber, William L., and Davis, Sandra L. (eds.) Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures, 3rd ed. New York: Routledge, 2011.

Contains many measures related to matters sexual: beliefs, attitudes, and behavior. Most measures are included, as well as information on scoring, reliability, validity, etc. Call Number: 306.7072 H236 2011 - First Floor, Reference

Davis, Clive M. (ed.) Handbook of Sexuality Related Measures. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1998.

Contains many measures related to matters sexual: beliefs, attitudes, and behavior. Most measures are included, as well as information on scoring, reliability, validity, etc. Call Number: 306.7072 H236 1998a - Third Floor

Hill, Peter C, and Hood, Ralph W. (eds.) Measures of Religiosity. Thousand Oaks, CA: Religious Education Press, 1999.

Covers 120 religious and spirituality measures. Call Number: 291.4 M484 - 3rd Floor

Lester, Paula E., and Bishop, Lloyd K. Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences, 2nd ed. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2000.

Written chiefly for teachers and guidance counselors, this handbook includes descriptions and samples of 120 tests and instruments arranged by 36 topics. The book includes both published and unpublished tools. Call Number: 371.26 L642h 2000 - First Floor, Reference

Website: Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences Tests available in compilation volumes.

This website attempts to index the full-text tests and measurements from over 121 publications. Tests are listed alphabetically, and for each test, it tells where the test is available (usually a book title, etc.) The OSU Library does not own all these sources referenced. 

Website: SDSU Test Finder (San Diego State University Libraries)

A searchable database of tests, instruments, rating scales and measures that can be found in books and journal articles.

Tests in Microfiche

Tests in Microfiche and the ETS Test Collection Database can assist you in identifying and finding tests and measurements.

Tests in Microfiche

Originated in 1975 as an annual series of unpublished research measurements that have been cited in psychological and educational literature and that authors have agreed to make available in microfiche format via the Educational Testing Service's Test Collection. Tests in Microfiche includes a variety of tests and measurements for a diverse population group that cover a wide array of topics and subjects. The OSU Library maintains the Tests in Measurement collection in microfiche. Contact Dan Chaney (dan.chaney@okstate.edu) to use Tests in Microfiche.

ETS Test Collection Database

Contains a searchable online index to the series, which will provide the series set (Set A, Set B, Set C, etc.) and the test number so you can find the test/measurement on microfiche in Room 105. From the ETS database search results for the test you're interested in, look for the field called Availability. If this field says Tests in Microfiche, you can find it in Room 105. Next, look for the field called Test Acronyms (there will be several fields with this name). In particular, look for the Test Acronyms field that has TIM (letter in parenthesis). This stands for Tests in Microfiche and that number in parenthesis is the series set you need to look in. That series set will be anything from A-Z, AA-CC or so.

To limit your search in ETS Test Collection to only those tests available in microfiche:

  • From the opening Search screen, Click on Advanced.
  • In the first dropdown box choose the field you want to search for your topic word (e.g., All Fields). Type your search word in the far right box.
  • Next, from TitleSearch box, type TIM in the box and click search. This should give you results available in Tests in Microfiche.

An alternate for locating the tests is to use the paper index to the set, titled Cumulative Index to Tests in Microfiche, 1975-2000, Call Number: 371.260973 T345 Set A-Z Index. There are indexes by author, title, and broad subject. All indexes indicate number of the test, and you find that number in a numeric list to get the set letter.

Is there a difference between the ETS Test Collection and Tests in Microfiche? Yes. The ETS Test Collection Database contains descriptions of over 20,000 tests that reside in the library of Educational Testing Service. Tests in Microfiche is a subset of this collection consisting of, 1,000+ tests. They include research and unpublished instruments that may be of interest to students doing research. These are the only tests available for purchase from the Educational Testing Service Library.

ERIC Documents (Microfiche)

There are measurements available in ERIC Documents, which are published as microfiche (older items) and online (newer items). 

Books Containing Tests and Measurements Available in the OSU Libraries