Skip to main content
Skip Navigation

Finding Tests and Measurements: Finding Tests in Databases

A pathfinder to identifying and finding tests and measures in the social sciences.

PsycTESTS

Finding Tests in Other Databases

It is possible to locate tests and measurements in databases - databases such as PsycINFO and Digital Dissertations. Here's how it works:

PsycINFO:

  • PsycINFO, one of our major social science databases allows you to search for tests and measurements included with journal literature. These are unpublished tests.
  • In PsycINFO, make sure you’re at the Advanced Search screen.
  • Look down the Advanced search screen page, about halfway. There is a search box called Test & Measure.
  • Add the words self-esteem and appended to the Test and Measures search box (see image below)/
  • Your results list should included research where a measure of self esteem is appended to the article.

ERIC:

In ERIC, in the Advanced Search mode, you can look for tests and measures by entering your keyword in the search box and then selecting Tests/Questionnaires from the Publication Type box below.

 

 

Digital Dissertations

  • Digital Dissertations is our major source of research originating in Ph.D. dissertations
  • There are TONS of researchers who develop measurements and tests in their dissertations. Here’s how we find them in Digital Dissertations.
  • First, there are two Subject Name/Codes to be aware of: Psychological Tests (0632) and Educational Evaluation (0288). You can enter either the subject name or the numeric code. Make sure to use the drop down to select Subject Name/Code
  • In the second row, enter your keyword for the measure you wish to search – for example, self esteem.
  • Your results should include dissertations which include a measurement or test for self esteem.
  • Digital Dissertations are available full-text across the board starting in 1998-99. All OSU dissertations are available full-text starting in 1961. Further, due to some consortiums to which OSU belongs, dissertations from other universities may be available full-text going back a number of years.