Skip to main content
Skip Navigation

Finding Tests and Measurements: Identifying Tests

A pathfinder to identifying and finding tests and measures in the social sciences.

Commercially Available Tests

By and large, many tests and measurements are available for purchase. There are not many options for free stuff (although there are some strategies for thoroughly searching for them in dissertations and as appendixes to joural articles and books.) Be prepared to spend some money to get a copy of that measurement. Also bear in mind that test publishers will in most cases send you tests via postal mail, which may take days or longer to arrive. Finally, remember that if you're looking for a test, you will also need a scoring key, or the mechanism by which to grade the test results. Finding a test for free means little if you have no idea how to score it. The following sources list tests which are commercially available:

Maddox, Teddy (ed.) Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business. Fifth Edition. Austin, TX:Pro-Ed, 2003.

A good place to start looking for tests. This reference is designed for quick identification of a test to meet a specific need. Unlike other test guides, it does not provide evaluations or reviews. Over 3,000 published English-language assessment instruments are listed under three broad subject categories (psychology, education, and business), with 87 subsections. Each entry provides a purpose, description, intended population, administration and scoring, cost and availability. Indexed by publisher, title, author, out-of-print instruments, availability of computer scoring, and tests composed for special population groups (e.g, visually impaired, non-English speakers, etc.) Call Number: 150.28 T345 2003 - First Floor, Reference

Keyser, Daniel J. and Richard C. Sweetland (eds.) Test Critiques. Kansas City, MO: Test Corp of America, 1985 - , 11 vol.

A standard outline for critiques includes an introduction, practical applications and uses, technical aspects, and a critique of each test. Test Critiques contains scholarly reviews and includes information related to the reliability, validity and normative development of the measurements. Focuses primarily on psychology, education and business tests. It should be used in conjunction with a sister publication Tests. There is a cumulative title index as well as indexing for publishers, subject and author/reviewer. Call Number: 150.287 T342, v.1-10 - First Floor, Reference

Conoley, Jane Close and Impara, James C. (eds.) Mental Measurements Yearbook. Lincoln, NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurement, 15 editions.

Commonly referred to as Buros (after the original editor, Oscar Buros). The MMY is published about every 5 years and is currently in its 15th edition. The MMY is the primary source of critical reviews about commercially available tests and measurements. To be included, tests must be new or revised since the last edition or are widely popular or have generated more than twenty citations in the literature. Entries for each test include short descriptive information, critiques, and bibliographies. Critiques are written by experts in the field. There are extensive bibliographies after each entry that cover validity, construction and use of the tests in different settings with different populations. Indexes provide access to publisher addresses, acronyms, titles, subjects, reviewers and authors, and trait being measured. The MMY is available full-text (OSU Library database). Call Number: 016.151 B967m - First Floor, Reference. 

Murphy, Linda L., Conoley, Jane Close and Impara, James C. (eds.) Tests In Print VI: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests. Lincoln, NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, 2002.

Long considered the primary index to test information, TIP provides descriptive listings of commercially published tests in print. It also serves as a comprehensive index to the MMY. Arranged alphabetically by test title, there are over 3,000 entries in 19 different categories such as achievement, intelligence and sensory-motor. There is indexing for publisher, title, acronym, reviewer name, author, subject and the area being measured. Call Number: 371.26 T345 - First Floor, Reference

Tests in Print

The database version of Tests in Print (available only to OSU students, faculty and staff.) 

Test Reviews Online

An index to tests reviewed in MMY, TIP and Test Critiques.

Specialized Tests and Measures

The following titles contain measurement and test descriptions as well as where you can get a copy of the measurement, be it from a journal, a publisher or the author. Note: these are not sources that give actual measures -- these tell you where to get tests.

Beere, Carole A. Gender Roles: A Handbook of Tests and Measures. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1990.

This volume resulted from an effort to update Women and Women's Issues. This work covers 211 measures produced from 1977 to 1988, emphasizing gender roles and related attitudes. 67 measurements are shared between this work and Women and Women's Issues. Arranged by broad subject category, with entries that include bibliographic information, description, intended use, reliability and statistical data, administrative information, evaluation and studies in which it was used. There are indexes by test title, test author, variables measured and study authors. Call Number: 301.41072 B415g - Third Floor

Beere, Carol A. Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1990.

Covers 197 instruments which measure interpersonal relationships and sexuality, such as abortion, contraception, rape, dating, and homosexuality. Arranged by broad subject category, with entries that include bibliographic information, description, intended use, reliability and statistical data, administrative information, evaluation and studies in which it was used. There are indexes by test title, test author, variables measured and study authors. Call Number: 155.30287 B415s - Third Floor

Beere, Carol A. Women and Women's Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass, 1979.

Contains descriptions of 235 published and unpublished instruments, measuring variables related to women's issues, sex roles and stereotypes and gender knowledge. Covers tests developed from the 1920's to 1977. Arranged by broad subject category, with entries that include bibliographic information, description, intended use, reliability and statistical data, administrative information, evaluation and studies in which it was used. There are indexes by test title, test author, variables measured and study authors. Call Number: 301.412018 B415w - Third Floor

Touliatos, John, Barry F. Permutter and Murray A. Straus. Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publishing, 2001.

Covers 976 instruments from the field of family studies covering the last 50 years. Over half have been used/developed since 1976. Abstracts are grouped into chapters according to five general areas (dimensions of marital and family interaction, intimacy and family values, parenthood, roles and power, adjustment), with historical overviews prefacing each chapter. Information for each measurement includes content and procedures, reliability and validity, etc. Call Number: 301.421 H236 2001, v. 1-3 - First Floor, Reference