Skip to main content
Skip Navigation

Animal Science: Finding Articles

These guides have been made to support your research in Animal Science.

Using these databases

If you click on any of the Databases, you'll be taken directly to them. If you're off-campus, you may need to log in. If you're asked to log in, it is your email address and password.

All Animal Science Databases

This will take LONGER than choosing just one database to search (see below). This will search 17 databases.

 

Animal Science Databases

CAB Abstracts - This database is international in scope and covers journals, books, and conferences of all languages and countries from 1900 to the present.  Its subjects include agriculture, food science, nutrition, and veterinary medicine. When you search this database, use both scientific names and common names of species.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts - covers all aspects of "food sciences and technology, including microbiology, toxicology, hygiene, economics, statistics, engineering, and packaging."

Agricola - The National Agricultural Library (NAL) produces this database which covers animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, and agricultural economics.

Science Direct - This database is a scientific research index that contains journals, conference papers, and books in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. All journal articles are available full text online. This is a great resource for research on epidemiological issues in animal science.

Vet Med Resource - over 1.4 million records on veterinary medicine and animal health. It includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, and books.

PubMed - this database is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It includes information sources related to medicine and the health care system.

National Renderers Association - this website is not hosted by Oklahoma State University, but it provides information on the rendering industry and is a leader in promoting recycling and sustainability in the meat industry.

Database Videos

Can't figure these out? Watch the two-minute videos below to see how to use these databases.  (You may need to use a different browser to view.)

Searching Science Direct

Searching CAB Abstracts