NSCI 3223: Nutrition Across the Life Span: Find Journal Articles

Each database (OSU subscribes to over 300) serves a unique subject area. To get an idea of which ones are recommended for your discipline, click HERE.

Your research will most likely benefit from your use of several. If you get really stuck, contact your librarian to assist with your research.

ABI/Inform - General database with full text articles relating to current events. Special emphasis on business and industry.

Academic Search Premier - Multidisciplinary database covering a wide range of topics related to health, the sciences, business, and current events. Most citations are full text. (Coverage from 1984 to the present)

America: History and Life - History of the United States from pre-history to current times.

JStor - Full text articles that cover several different aspects of African American Studies, American and International history, public policy, and other social science subjects. Articles date back to around 1900.

Sociological Abstracts - This source covers more than 50 years of research related to sociology, social work, and the social sciences.

If you click on any of the Databases below, you'll be taken directly to them. If you're off-campus, you may need to log in. If you're asked to log in, it is your email address and password.

ERIC – The largest source of professional education information in the world.

MEDLINE – Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it is considered its leading database. OSU’s version via EbscoHost includes AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE (Ethics and related public policy issues in health care and biomedical research, and HealthSTAR (Health policy and administration).

PsycINFO – Database that covers research related to human behavior and development.  

PubMed – This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.  It includes information sources related to medicine and the health care system.  It is an excellent source for information related to health care advocacy and policy.

Science Direct – This database is a scientific research index that contains journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Most of these are available full text online. (Elsevier publications)

Social Sciences Citation Index – A citation index that tracks articles in the social sciences and all other articles that have referenced them and vice versa. Useful for tracking the historical development of a concept.  It covers more than 1700 journal in the social sciences.

Sociological Abstracts – This source covers more than 50 years of research related to sociology, social work, and the social sciences.