African American Studies: Finding Articles
Using these sources...
If you click on any of these sources, you'll be taken directly to them. If you're off-campus, you may need to log in. If you're asked to log in, it is your email address and password.
Digital Dissertations - Index to U.S. dissertations (some masters theses and international dissertations included). Coverage 1861 – present. (Some full text).
This is a great place to get an idea of other research that's been done on your subject area!
Academic Search Premier - Multidisciplinary database covering a wide range of topics related to health, the sciences, business, and current events. Most citations are full text. (Coverage from 1984 to the present)
ABI/Inform - General database with full text articles relating to current events. Special emphasis on business and industry.
These databases are also listed on the "Finding Primary Material" Page.
African American Newspapers - This database provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers covering more than 150 years of the African American experience. The newspapers may be searched by date, place of publication, or basic keyword. Articles, photos and cartoons may be printed or downloaded.
America: History and Life - This database includes articles about the United States and Canada that include information from prehistory to the present.
ERIC – The largest source of professional education information in the world. It is produced by the Educational Resources Information Center.
Ethnic Newswatch - This full text database includes newspapers, journals and magazines from various ethnic presses. Articles date back to around 1960.
JStor - Full text articles that cover several different aspects of African American Studies, American and International history, public policy, and other social science subjects. Articles date back to around 1900.
Sociological Abstracts - This source covers more than 50 years of research related to sociology, social work, and the social sciences.
PubMed – This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It includes information sources related to medicine and the health care system. It is an excellent source for information related to health care advocacy and policy.
Science Direct – This database is a scientific research index that contains journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. All of these journals articles are available full-text online.