- Library
- Guides
- Library Guides
- American Indian Resources
- Law Reference Sources
American Indian Resources: Law Reference Sources
This is an introductory guide to resources for Native American Studies. Some, but not all, of these are available through the Edmon Low Library, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater.
Indian Law Websites
Native American Law Resources LibGuide Created by M. Faye Hadley, Indian Law specialist, Mabee Legal Information Center, University of Tulsa School of Law.
University of Oklahoma Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
Indian Claims Commission Decisions Oklahoma State University Library, digitized collection
Law Schools with Special Collections
OU College of Law Special Collections See the Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project and the Strickland Collection of Native Peoples Law.
UNM Special Collections See the Indian Law Collection.
UMass Amherst Special Collections
University of Arizona Guide to American Indian Law Sources
Harvard Law School Native American Tribal Constitutions, Laws, & Treaties
American Indian Library Association
National Achieves- Indians/Native Americans
Princeton University Special Collections- Native American History
University of Oregon Special Collections- John E. Jaqua Law Library See Rennard Strickland Indian Law and Culture Collection.
Treaties
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
"Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler,[this resource] is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII). The work was first published in 1903-04 by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Enhanced by the editors' use of margin notations and a comprehensive index, the information contained in Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties is in high demand by Native peoples, researchers, journalists, attorneys, legislators, teachers and others of both Native and non-Native origins" (Home page). (This project was supported by grants from the Coca-Cola Foundation and the Amigos Bibliographic Council, 1999-2000.)
Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations
This site, published by the Electronic Text Center of the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, includes "texts of the nine remaining treaties, created between the years 1722 and 1805....These are the product of seven, early treaty events between a number of American Indian Nations and the British, and of two United States efforts" (Home page).
Treaties with American Indians : an encyclopedia of rights, conflicts, and sovereignty (3 volumes) by Call Number: 342.730872 v. 1-3ISBN: 9781576078808Publication Date: 2008Describes the treaties made by the U.S. and Canada with their Native/First Nations members from the colonial period to the last treaties in the lat 19th century. V. 1, Thematic and Regional essays; v. 2 U.S. and Canadian Indian treaties, Important treaty sites , Primary source documents;
v. 3 Historical chronology, Biographies, Treaty related issues. Includes bibliographical references and index.
For Indigenous Minds Only by Call Number: 323.1197 f692ISBN: 1934691933Publication Date: 2012-12-03This book is classified in political science. Here are the "subject headings" that catalogers used to describe the contents:
Indians of North America--Ethnic identity.
Indians of North America--Politics and government.
Indians of North America--Social conditions.
Self-determination, National--United States.
Decolonization--United States.
Postcolonialism--United States.
Cultural property--Protection--United States.
United States--Race relations.
United States--Politics and government.
