Skip to main content
Skip Navigation

Engineering Guide: Articles

The purpose of this guide is to enable students and faculty to locate engineering information from articles, books, standards, technical reports and patents.

How to search article databases

Primary Article Databases

Compendex
Regardless of your major, start here.  Very broad subject coverage of all engineering disciplines.   

Inspec
This database is focused on electrical engineering, computer science and physics.  Inspec indexes IEEE and several physics publishers. You may prefer to go directly to IEEE

Web of Science
Leaning more towards science than engineering, this is still an important place to search.  Web of Science has cited reference searching, and numerous ways to sort search results in terms of references and cited references.

Science Direct
This database has a mix of science and engineering content.  All content is full-text. 

Google Scholar - located on the Databases list

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Research Library

The database includes a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. 

Academic Search Premier

Broad coverage of all academic subjects. 

 

 

Compendex Tutorials

Here are 2 video tutorials on searching Compendex.

 

Video: Find the full-text of an article from Compendex

I am a graduate student working on a literature review

Those primary artcle databases are crucial players in your research.  Create keyword alerts on your research topic and get updates, automatically, on a regular basis.