Skip to main content
Skip Navigation

Engineering Guide: Keyword Alerts and EndNote

The purpose of this guide is to enable students and faculty to locate engineering information from articles, books, standards, technical reports and patents.

Keep in Mind:

Creating keyword alerts – some suggestions:
Username:  use your okey email address
Password:  consider an 8 digit password, with uppercase and lowercase letters, at least one number 0-9, and at least one character such as #,$,%,&,* For example 33$$Ab56.   Use the same password for Compendex, Ebsco, and Web of Science

Set the frequency for the alerts at one week.

Boolean Operators
Boolean AND – restrict the number of articles found
Boolean OR – increase the number of articles, Boolean NOT – restricts

Full-text availability – electronic, print or Interlibrary Services

Truncation operator * = stem of word and variant endings   ing, ed, ion, etc
    model*  yields  model, models modeled, modeling
    simulate* yields  simulation, simulated, simulates

Compendex:  Refine search>Limit By>Treatment Type>Literature Review

Compendex: creating keyword alerts

place the close captioned video here

Literature Reviews in Engineering: multiple databases and multiple search terms

Compendex

natural language processing and robotics and modeling        > 323 results

Expand the search using synonyms, and truncation*: 

         natural language processing: natural language processing or nlp
         robotics: robotics     
         modeling: modeling or simulation or algorithm
         Truncation: model* or simulat* or algorithm* 

(natural language processing or nlp)  AND robotics AND (model* or simulat* or algorithm*)                                                                                  
>
497 results   

Large number of results useful for keyword alerts, also if I need to narrow a search by a specific research interest, then there are some results to work with for this purpose. 

Full text availability: electronic, print, ILS.

Refine search>Limit By>Treatment Type>Literature Review         0 results
         Remove  model* or simulat* or algorithm* from the search > 4 results
         Literature Review – most articles have a large number of references
         Change from Literature Review to General Review > 53 results

Create keyword alert.  Username and password.

EBSCO databases  
select the following databases: Academic Search Premier, Inspec

(natural language processing or nlp)  AND robotics AND (model* or simulat* or algorithm*)  >  404 results

Create keyword alert.   Username and password as before.

Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge platform) 

(natural language processing or nlp)  AND robotics AND (model* or simulat* or algorithm*)  > 13 results

forward and backward searching, related articles, and cited reference searching

Create keyword alert.   Username and password as before.


More examples:

Compendex

(soft tissue mechanics) AND (viscoelastic deformation)  > 130 results

(soft tissue mechanics) AND (viscoelastic deformation) AND (models or simulation or algorithm) > 110 results

EBSCO databases: Academic Search Premier, Inspec, Medline 

(soft tissue mechanics) AND (viscoelastic deformation) AND (models or simulation or algorithm)  > 9,000 results

Web of Science

(soft tissue mechanics) AND (viscoelastic deformation) AND (models or simulation or algorithm)  > 30 results



Compendex

(aircraft or airplane or aerospace) AND (structural or frame) AND nanocomposites > 700 results

(aircraft or airplane or aerospace) AND (structural or frame) AND nanocomposites AND (models or simulation or algorithm) > 200 results

EBSCO databases: Inspec
(aircraft or airplane or aerospace) AND (structural or frame) AND nanocomposites AND (models or simulation or algorithm) > 10 results

(aircraft or airplane or aerospace) AND (structur* or frame) AND nanocomposites AND (model* or simulat* or algorithm*)  > 43 results

EndNote

The OSU Library provides EndNote software downloads, training, and video tutorials.