Skip to main content
Skip Navigation

The Angie Debo Collection: Debo Collection Photographs

View Photographs Online

Click the link below to view selected photographs from the Angie Debo Collection. 

Photograph Collection Overview

Debo was a historian who researched and wrote primarily about the Five Civilized Tribes, Geronimo, and the history of Native Americans and of Oklahoma. She also was a teacher, pastor, and director of the Federal Writers Project in Oklahoma. From 1947-1955 she was curator of maps at Oklahoma A&M College, now Oklahoma State University. After retirement in 1955 she wrote, lectured, traveled, researched family histories, served on the boards of directors of the Oklahoma Chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union and the Association on American Indian Affairs, made surveys for the Indian Rights Association, and lobbied for land rights for Indians in Alaska and for water rights for the Havasupai and Pima in Arizona. She authored nine books, edited three, co-authored another, wrote many chapters, articles, and forewords, and presented numerous papers on Native Americans and Oklahoma history.

Photographs

The Angie Debo Papers contains more than 1300 photographs dealing with her writings and personal life. All photographs have been relocated and integrated into one file. Each photograph that was in folders in Debo's files was photocopied and the photocopy, with linking notes to the actual photo, was placed where the photograph was originally found. Photographs that she kept in boxes and drawers were not photocopied or linked to an original location.

Each photocopy and original has a note of the original location, beginning with a 'b'. In addition, each photograph, regardless of where it was located, has an indication of its final location, beginning with a ‘B'. The letters ‘b' and ‘B' indicate the box, and ‘f' the folder. The letters and accompanying numbers are followed by dot and another number; the latter number indicates the order of the specific photograph within the folder.

All photographs are interfiled in boxes 63, 64 and 65, regardless of the original location. Arrangement is by identified individuals and broad topics. Duplicates have been retained; most additional copies are not on the microfilm. The photographs are on reels 84 and 85 of the microfilm. When filming, a special process was used in order to assure continuous tonal quality of the photographs on the microfilm.

The descriptions in this supplemental finding aid for the Angie Debo Papers, Collection No. 88-013, and information regarding the availability of negatives are available in a machine-readable database in Special Collections. The description also includes size [in inches] and a note whether the photo is black and white (bw) or color (c).

Inquiries about the photographs should be made in Special Collections, Edmon Low Library, 2nd floor east. The department is open and staffed 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Phone: 405/744-6311

Access

The photographs, along with most of the rest of the collection, have been microfilmed for preservation purposes. The microfilm is part of Special Collections and is kept in the library's Microform and Media Room in order to make this resource available longer hours without prior arrangements. It is non-circulating; user identification and sign-out are required. The photographs are on reels 84 and 85. The files of actual photographs are in the library's storage facility; researchers needing to use them should make prior arrangements in Special Collections.

Copyright and Copying

Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," the user is liable for any copyright infringement.

Researchers are responsible for obtaining all permissions regarding copyright and intellectual property rights related to any material they might copy or might prepare for publication, exhibit or other dissemination, regardless of format.

Angie Debo bequeathed all of her intellectual property rights to Oklahoma State University. Written permission from Oklahoma State University is required for publication or other reproduction or adaptation of her material.

For all material not created by Debo, the rights are held by the creators of the material, regardless of format . In some cases, especially those regarding photographs, the owner of the original may have some rights as well.

This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. The library will arrange to have copies made of photographs which Debo acquired from other known sources upon receipt of an original written permission that contains an authorized signature from the site from which Debo obtained a photograph.

Preferred Citation

Angie Debo Papers, Oklahoma State University Libraries, Stillwater, OK, Box number, Folder number.number [of photo], e.g. B63,f21.1.