Temporary Additional Resources: Home
To support universities that have moved instruction online during the COVID-19 outbreak, many academic publishers are providing access to additional online resources. Please note that these are not permanent additions to the OSU Library's collection.
To access these resources, see the library catalog for records for individual books and the databases page for databases and trials. Access is pending in some cases; links will be added as soon as they become available. This page will be continually updated as we gain additional resources. See also this list for additional options.
This guide only lists temporary resources that have been opened specifically in response to the COVID-19 outbreak. The library's existing online collections also continue to be available to support your remote teaching and research:
Update: In June, some publishers also began opening access to collections related to racial justice. As these collections become available, they will be listed below by resource type (books, journals, etc.).
Online Books and Textbooks
The following publishers have extended temporary access to some or all of their e-books. Records for them have been added to the library catalog; they can be accessed like other e-books in our collection.
- American Mathematical Association: grace access to all content hosted on their platform through May 31, 2020.
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM): free access to its Digital Library through June 30, 2020.
- Bloomsbury Collections: e-books available through May 31, 2020.
- Cambridge University Press: access to the Cambridge Companions Online, Cambridge Histories Online, Cambridge Elements, and the textbook collection on Cambridge Core until June 30, 2020.
- De Gruyter: e-books will be available through July 31, 2020.
- EBSCO: the Academic eBook, Business eBook, and History eBook collections, approximately 239,000 titles in total, through June 30, 2020.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect Textbooks: approximately 300 textbooks on ScienceDirect, March 18 to June 18, 2020.
- Harvard Business Review: ebooks available until May 30, 2020.
- HathiTrust: emergency access to electronic versions of books that libraries already own in print was provided while the library was closed (through July 6).
- IET Digital Library: ebooks are available until June 30, 2020.
- IGI-Global: access to ebooks until June 14, 2020.
- JSTOR: a collection of over 35,000 e-books, available through August 31, 2020.
- MIT Press: complimentary access to MIT Press Direct ebooks through June 30, 2020.
- Ohio State University Press: access to monographs and Language Files textbook.
- Sage Knowledge: e-books and reference content opened for 90 days (approximately the end of June).
- SpringerLink: access to a collection of textbooks at least through July 31, 2020.
- University of Michigan Press: all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection through June 30, 2020.
Resources from the following publishers are available on their own sites, linked below:
- Cengage Unlimited is offering students and faculty access to the Cengage Unlimited collection, which includes electronic textbooks. Users can create Cengage accounts to receive 14-day free trials of content, which can be renewed if needed.
- Library of Congress Open Access e-books collection
- National Emergency Library: The Internet Archive has opened the National Emergency Library, a collection of over 1,400,000 e-books, to support emergency remote teaching, research, and scholarship. Users must create individual accounts. Up to ten e-books may be borrowed at once. Through June 16, 2020, there will be no waiting lists on books in the collection.
- Pearson: access to digital versions of print textbooks, where available.
- Project MUSE: some publishers are making their books freely accessible for variable lengths of time. For a complete list of participating publishers, content, and availability dates, see their list, which is constantly updated.
- Project MUSE in Focus: Confronting Structural Racism: "A selection of temporarily free scholarship from Project MUSE publishers on the history of structural racism in the United States and how the country can realize anti-racist reform." The date until which this content will be available is not specified on the site.
- Taylor & Francis is allowing free access to all etextbooks for the remainder of the Spring 2020 semester via their partnerships with VitalSource and RedShelf.
- VitalSource and RedShelf are working with the American Psychological Association as well as other academic publishers to offer ebooks free of charge until May 25, 2020, including Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. You will be prompted to create accounts using your OSU email address at the VitalSource and RedShelf sites; these titles are not listed in our catalog.
The following vendors have removed limits on the number of users who can access individual books that the library has already purchased:
- EBSCOhost ebooks: access limits lifted on purchased and subscribed titles from nearly 200 publishers until June 30, 2020.
- ProQuest Ebook Central: access limits lifted on purchased and subscribed titles from over 50 publishers through mid-June 2020.
Reference and Teaching Tools
- The American Psychological Association is allowing instructors to use PsycLearn: Research Methods content with their students at no cost for the remainder of the spring semester. The eight available modules of PsycLearn: Introduction to Social Psychology are also being made available. Interested educators should email firstname.lastname@example.org directly.
- Oxford University Press is offering free access to online teaching tools.
- AVON: Academic Video Online: The OSU Library has been given an extended trial of AVON (March 19 - August 30), a streaming video database that includes documentaries, non-fiction and instructional films, and similar educational resources.
- Docuseek: titles from Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films that are held in physical format by the library and requested by faculty for instruction will be made available for educational streaming through June 30, 2020. A list of eligible films from our collection is available here. If you would like to use any of those titles for online instruction, please contact us at email@example.com and we will communicate with Docuseek about online availability.
- JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) will provide all education video content free to use through June 15, 2020.
- Kanopy: "Great Courses" and select other content free until May 31, 2020. A downloadable guide to the current list of content is available.
- New Day Films: free 14-day streaming licenses upon request for select films through June 1. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org to request a film. A list of available titles can be found here.
Journals and Databases
- Access World News Research Collection, a NewsBank database, will be available through May 31, 2020.
- Adam Matthew has extended a trial of the Resource Source collection until October 1, 2020.
- American Chemical Society has published a free-to-read virtual issue on Covid-19 research.
- Annual Reviews has made their journals available to all, through June 30, 2020.
- Bloomsbury Digital Resources has opened extended trials for the following collections through May 30, 2020.
- Elsevier offers a free coronavirus information center: a collection of approximately 20,000 articles as well as a free download for data mining.
- Emerald Publishing offers a collection of COVID-19 related resources.
- Empire Online is available as a database trial through June 26, 2020.
- Government Documents Primary Sources Essential Package is an archive of congressional publications that provides digital access to full-text government documents and other research materials. This bundle includes Congressional Base with Historic Indexes, Serial Set, Congressional Hearings and Congressional Research Digital collections and will be available through June 30, 2020.
- HeinOnline has added a new, permanent collection titled COVID-19 in America: Response, Issues, and Law.
- JAMA Network Covid-19 Collection
- JSTOR is extending access to multiple primary source and archive collections through December 31, 2020.
- 26 archives of journals in public health
- Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa: The liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime was one of the major political developments of the 20th century, with far-reaching consequences for people throughout Africa and around the globe. This collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
- Sustainability: features academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
- World Heritage Sites: Africa: serves researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning. The collection is also a tool for museums, libraries, NGOs, and government organizations that manage or oversee cultural heritage sites, as well as for experts and professionals engaged in the conservation and management of such sites.
- Knovel's Covid-19 collection is free to everyone.
- Loeb Classical Library is extending free access to its digital library through June 30, 2020.
- Mary Ann Liebert has a collection of free articles to support coronavirus research.
- Oxford Clinical Psychology Collection will be available through May 31, 2020. The collection includes over 300 e-books in a variety of psychology fields.
- Policy Map has opened a database trial through May 31, 2020.
- ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database has been opened to provide access to research on coronavirus and COVID-19.
- Salem Press offers their free collection of essays: Pandemics: the Invisible Enemy.
- Taylor & Francis is making all COVID-19 related research free to access.
- Wiley offers a collection of COVID-19 related articles and book chapters.