Creating bibliographies and annotated bibliographies: Home
This guide provides information on how to create a bibliography or works-cited page for a paper or publication.
Guidelines for creating bibliographies
It is important to cite the sources of information when preparing a paper, presentation or publication in order to provide proper attribution for the ideas of others. A bibliography is a formatted list of references linked to the appropriate ideas in the text by a number or author-date citation. The format of citations and bibliography page will depend on the style used. Consult a style guide for details. Style guides are available in print at the OSU Library and also online.
Citation Style Manuals Available in the OSU Library
There are several different style manuals for how to prepare citations in a bibliography. Each academic discipline uses a specific style for preparing citations. This style dictates the elements and their order in a citation as well as the format of the bibliography. If you have a writing assignment, your instructor may specify which style to use. If not, there are certain style manuals commonly used in the various disciplines.
Keep in mind, information from the Internet should be cited differently from print materials. Earlier editions of style manuals may not include how to cite Internet sources. Be sure the edition you use has specific directions for citing electronic online sources. If you are unsure which style manual you should use, check with your instructor about what style is appropriate for the discipline.
Use the tab above to find Web resources on various commonly used citation styles. The EndNote tab takes you to a guide on the free bibliographic citation management software provided by the OSU Library, and the OSU Theses/Dissertations tab has links to the OSU Graduate College guidelines and tips on finding OSU theses and dissertations.
Frequently used style manual books are listed below: