- Library
- Guides
- Library Guides
- VMED 7631: History of Veterinary Medicine
- Organizations and Websites
VMED 7631: History of Veterinary Medicine: Organizations and Websites
Organizations
- American Veterinary Medical History SocityFounded in 1978, the American Veterinary Medical History Society (AVMHS), is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to promoting research, study, understanding, communication, and appreciation for the history of the veterinary medical profession, especially in America.
- American Veterinary Medical AssociationIncludes a list of of AVMA Officers and Annual Meetings by Year [from 1863-64 to 2022] (pdf) and another of AVMA Board of Directors by Year [from 1969 to 2022] (pdf)
- American Association of Avian Pathologists (History Section)The histroy section of AAAP contains biographical sketches of individuals that have significantly contributed to its development and continuation. It also contains historical articles and tributes published in the Avian Diseases journal. Information is also provided about the AAAP Archive collection.
- American College of Veterinary Radiology (History Section)The history section includes includes background information and historical documents on the development of this specialty over the years.
- World Association for the History of Veterinary MedicineEncourages, promotes, and coordinates research and education in the history of veterinary medicine.
- The Veterinary History SocietyFounded in London in 1962 to foster all aspects of veterinary history.
Unique Digital Collections
- National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Digital Collections provides access to the National Library of Medicine's distinctive digital content in the areas of biomedicine, health care and the history of medicine.
- Association for Women Veterinarians Bulletins Digital Collection
1947-2005
Washington State University Digital Collections - RCVS Veterinary History
RCVS Knowledge holds the historic archive collections belonging to the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons; contains unpublished manuscripts, correspondence, clinical case notes and photographs illustrating the history of the British veterinary profession from 1800 to the present day.