Copy of 2022-template: Home
Intro
This guide is designed for new researchers who need to find articles, sources, and get started with research in topics related to language and literature.
Start with:
- MLA International BibliographyProduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present.
- JSTORFull-text access for over 17 million journal articles, books, documents, and research reports in a variety of disciplines.
- Project MUSEFull text access for about scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press (43 titles). Coverage generally ranges from 1993 to present.
Then try any of the following:
- Early English Books Online - Text Creation PartnershipContains digital facsimile page images of over 60,000 works printed between 1473 and 1700.
- Film & Television Literature IndexA bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications and selective coverage for 300.
- Gale LiteratureA collection of multiple Gale databases, such as eBooks, Literature Criticism, Literature Resource Center, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Something About the Author.
- Literature Resource CenterGale's Literature Resource Center offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Its materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
- Los Angeles Review of BooksThe Los Angeles Review of Books is a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting and disseminating rigorous, incisive, and engaging writing on every aspect of literature, culture, and the arts.
Also check out:
- ConstellateConstellate is a text analytics service that serves as a platform for teaching, learning, and performing text analysis. There are over 32 million documents, 27 million scholarly journal articles, and 2 million historical newspapers covering 421 years, and lessons that specialize in learning programming in Python and text analysis.
- Dictionary of Literary BiographyGale's Dictionary of Literary Biography explores the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- HathiTrustA searchable library with over 17 million books, documents, and serial publications with more than 7 millions full-text works.
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineThis collection is an extensive digital archive of primary source material from the nineteenth century, including books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, state papers, maps, and other ephemera. It covers the United Kingdom, Europe, the United States, Asia, and Africa.
