Activation
|
The process of turning on an electronic resource in FOLIO or EDS so that it becomes discoverable and accessible to users.
|
Accounts (Organizations App)
|
Sub-structures within a vendor profile are used to manage acquisition workflows such as approval plans, firm orders, DDA, and eBook platforms. These often reflect vendor-side folders or invoice routing.
|
Bibliographic Record (Bib)
|
A structured metadata record describing a resource, including title, author, publisher, format, and identifiers (e.g., ISBN, ISSN). Stored in FOLIO Inventory and typically MARC-based.
|
Data Dictionary
|
A field-level reference table defining metadata values, controlled vocabularies, and required fields used across the FOLIO system.
|
Electronic Collection
|
A group of electronic titles (portfolios) provided through a specific vendor or access platform. Used to structure paid packages and organize access in FOLIO.
|
Electronic Resource Task List
|
A FOLIO/EDS feature used to track activation workflows, particularly for resources requiring testing or follow-up.
|
EDS (EBSCO Discovery Service)
|
The discovery platform is used by OSU Libraries. Integrates with FOLIO metadata, link resolver, and KBART data to power the library’s public search.
|
Encumbrance
|
A financial hold is placed on a fund in FOLIO once a Purchase Order (PO) is opened. Reduces available balance until the invoice is paid.
|
Expense Class
|
A reporting field in FOLIO used to categorize purchases by format (e.g., eBooks, serials, databases, print, media). Enables accurate reporting for ARL, IPEDS, and internal needs.
|
EZProxy
|
The authentication system is used by OSU Libraries to grant off-campus access to subscription-based electronic resources. Configured at the service or collection level in FOLIO.
|
Finance App
|
FOLIO application used to create and manage fiscal years, ledgers, funds, expense classes, and rollover rules. Central to budget and encumbrance workflows.
|
FOLIO (Future of Libraries Is Open)
|
An open-source, modular Library Services Platform (LSP) used by OSU Libraries for acquisitions, inventory, circulation, and electronic resource management.
|
Fund Code
|
A unique alphanumeric identifier for a fund in Finance App. Must match the vendor system (e.g., GOBI) for API integration.
|
GOBI
|
A vendor platform from EBSCO is used for selecting, ordering, and invoicing monographs and eBooks.
|
Holdings (MARC)
|
Metadata indicating ownership and location of physical or electronic items. For physical books, this includes call number, volume, and location. For electronic, reflected in portfolios.
|
HLM (Holdings Management)
|
EBSCO’s interface for managing package-level subscriptions and title access, synced via KBART and MARC to FOLIO.
|
Interface (FOLIO)
|
Represents a vendor platform or delivery method. Attached to vendors and electronic collections to assist in filtering and management.
|
Inventory App
|
The FOLIO application housing bibliographic records, holdings, items, and electronic portfolios. All discovery-layer-visible metadata is managed here.
|
Invoice
|
A record of payment or charges associated with a PO. Managed in the Invoices App. Supports line-level matching and fund disbursement.
|
Invoice Line
|
A sub-record in an invoice that ties to a specific POL. Used to track charges, taxes, shipping, or other adjustments.
|
Item Record
|
For physical resources, the metadata assigned to a copy of a book or DVD. Includes barcode, location, and call number.
|
KBART
|
Knowledge Bases and Related Tools. A standardized format used by vendors to deliver title lists to link resolvers like EDS.
|
Ledger
|
The highest-level fiscal structure in the Finance App. Ledgers represent funding sources such as State, Foundation, or Endowment.
|
MARC (Machine-Readable Cataloging)
|
A standard for encoding bibliographic and holdings data in machine-readable form. Used by libraries worldwide for interoperability.
|
Metadata Sync
|
The process of importing and updating bibliographic records (e.g., MARC) from external sources (e.g., WCM or vendors) into FOLIO.
|
OCLC (Online Computer Library Center)
|
A global library cooperative providing MARC records, cataloging tools (e.g., WCM), and interlibrary loan infrastructure.
|
Orders App
|
FOLIO module for creating Purchase Orders and Purchase Order Lines. Integrated with Finance, Organizations, Inventory, and Invoices.
|
Package
|
A bundled set of resources—usually electronic—licensed as a group (e.g., a database or journal collection). Tracked as electronic collections in FOLIO.
|
Platform
|
The vendor's delivery site for content. Examples include JSTOR, ProQuest, Gale, and EBSCOhost.
|
POL (Purchase Order Line)
|
A detailed line item in a PO that includes the title, fund, material type, format, and pricing. Core to acquisitions tracking and invoicing.
|
Portfolio
|
A single electronic title (eBook, eJournal, etc.) with associated access URL, coverage dates, and availability status. Part of an electronic collection.
|
Primo/EDS
|
Discovery platforms for accessing library resources. EDS is used at OSU and integrates with FOLIO metadata and link resolver tools.
|
Receiving App
|
FOLIO module is used to check in physical materials. Also used to create items, apply barcodes, and update holdings.
|
RegEx (Regular Expressions)
|
Syntax used to match specific strings in import profiles (e.g., filenames for MARC files). Useful for automated batch workflows.
|
Service (Electronic)
|
In FOLIO, a container within an electronic collection defining access method, parser parameters, and whether the access is full or selective.
|
Standalone Portfolio
|
A portfolio that is not attached to an electronic collection. OSU practice is to avoid unless necessary.
|
Template
|
A reusable PO or POL configuration saved in the Orders App. Reduces errors and increases efficiency for repeat orders.
|
Vendor
|
The entity from whom resources are purchased. May differ from the content provider or access platform. Managed in the Organizations App.
|
Visibility Rule
|
A rule in EDS is used to suppress or display resources based on license, access level, or overlap logic.
|
WCM (World Share Collection Manager)
|
OCLC’s tool for managing bibliographic record delivery. Preferred source for MARC records used
|
