Literature, Creative Writing, & Literary Criticism: Citing Sources
This guide will help you find British, American, and English-language literary texts, creative writing resources, and literary criticism on authors or literary works in books, reference book entries, and journal articles available from the OSU Library.
Below are the locations of the print editions of the citation manuals for consultation in General Reference, 1st floor:
- MLA HandbookCall Number: 808.027 M685 2016ISBN: 9781603292627The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.
- MLA Style Manual And Guide to Scholarly PublicationCall Number: 808.27 G437m 2008The MLA style manual for authors of journal articles and books. There copies on the 4th floor.
- The Chicago Manual of StyleCall Number: 655.25 C532 2010ISBN: 9780226287058This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf.
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations byCall Number: 808.02 T929m 2013ISBN: 9780226816371Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers.
Bibliographic Management Software & Online Style Guides
The OSU Library provides EndNote bibliographic management software free of charge to all OSU students, faculty, and staff. This software helps you format citations in MLA Style and over 200 other bibliographic styles, and works with Microsoft Word to help you create your Works Cited/bibliography pages. Use the link below to learn about EndNote, download the software and accompanying connection files, and to find out about training opportunities on how to use EndNote:
These are some guides on the Web to MLA and other citation styles. They can be used help formulate citations, but consult the print style books listed above if you have questions.
- Quick Guide to MLA Style (OSU Library) is a quick reference on how to cite common types of sources.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): MLA is a detailed reference source on MLA Style.
- MLA Handbook Companion Site (MLA) NOTE: To use this site, you much purchase a copy of the 7th Ed. of the MLA Handbook and register an account.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Chicago Manual of Style is a detailed reference source on the 16th Ed. of the manual.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online (University of Chicago Press) NOTE: To use this site, you must purchase an individual subscription.