- Library
- Guides
- Library Guides
- Economics
- Reference Sources
Economics: Reference Sources
Selected print dictionaries/ encyclopedias
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law by
A great deal of economics is in fact about law - the functioning of markets, property rights and their enforcement, financial obligations and so on. Yet these legal aspects and problems are almost never addressed in the academic study of economics. At the same time a great deal of law, an increasing proportion of litigation for example, is about economics, and yet the drafting and administration of laws often ignore economic principle.The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law is uniquely placed by the quality, breadth and depth of its coverage to address this need for building bridges. Drawn from the ranks of academics and professional lawyers and economists in eight countries, the 340 contributors include the leading exponents of their specialities. Among them are Nobel laureates in economics and eminent legal scholars.The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law will become a benchmark for reference of the highest quality.
Call Number: Main Library Stack (343.0703 N532)ISBN: 1561592153Publication Date: 1998-02-01
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Managerial Economics by
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management series is comprised of 11 stand-alone volumes, each covering a major subject area in the field. All of the volumes provide informative definitions and explanation of the key concepts in their area. For students, researchers, academics and practitioners, they should act as a reference, bringing together specially-commissioned and edited entries from an international team of scholars and teachers.
Call Number: Main Library Stacks (658.1503 B632)ISBN: 1557869650Publication Date: 1997-04-16
The Ultimate Business Dictionary by
The Ultimate Business Dictionary provides the most comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of key business terminology and concepts available. Containing definitions of more than six thousand entries, The Ultimate Business Dictionary reflects the globalization of English as the lingua franca of business, and offers several unique features, including translations of all terms into Chinese, Japanese, French, German, and Spanish (Castilian and Latin American); abbreviations, acronyms, and s⟨concise biographical profiles of key business thinkers and leaders; listings of international stock exchanges and trade organizations; and a section on finance and accounting terms and ratios.
Call Number: Library Main Stacks (650.03 U47)ISBN: 0738208213Publication Date: 2003-05-08
Online dictionaries / encyclopedias
- World Bank e-atlas of Global DevelopmentProvides maps and graphs for 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries.
- State of Working AmericaProduced by the Economic Policy Institute. This web site presents data in eight broad issue areas: income, economic mobility, wages, jobs,wealth, poverty, health and international comparisons
