Skip to Main Content

Hospitality and Tourism Management: Research Databases

A guide to resources and research in hospitality

Research Databases

For finding company and industry information: company profiles, company financial, industry market reports, etc
 

BizMiner
Provides detailed industry analysis and market research reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets. Types of reports: Industry Financial Profiles, Market Research Reports, Area Demographic Profiles, Business Failure Rate Index, Sole Proprietor/Start-up Profit & Loss

Dun & Bradstreets Key Business Ratios
Financial statements of U.S. corporations, partnerships, and proprietorships with 14 ratios that include solvency, efficiency, and profitability. Key business ratios calculated identify key relationships between the financial data.

Factiva
Provides access to major business publications, Newswire reports, and photos from Reuters and Knight-Ridder. Also provides full-text access to 5,500 newspapers (regional, national, and international).

globalEdge
Created by MSU's Center for International Business Education and Research (MSU-CIBER), globalEDGE provides insight into global business activities. Includes country profiles with corporate culture and risk, statistics, industry overviews, news, and more.

IBISWorld (Industry Research Reports)
IBISWorld’s Industry Research Reports are useful business tools that provide strategic insight and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries. Industry market research reports cover the following areas: key statistics; recession update; segmentation; market characteristics; industry conditions; key factors; key competitors; industry performance and outlook.

Mergent Online
A business research database that provides business and financial information for over 10,000 U.S. companies. 30 years of historical stock prices are available.  Annual Reports and SEC filings (real-time and archived to 1993) are included for the 10,000+ NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchange companies. Fact sheets (updated quarterly) giving a company overview, ratios, and prospects are available for 2,000 U.S. companies.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
A comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies from many of Standard & Poor's popular publications, including S&P Industry Surveys and S&P Stock Reports.

General Databases

For finding company and industry information: company profiles, company financial, industry market reports, etc
 

Academic Search Premier
A database with articles and other resources spanning many subject areas. It is a solid starting point for your research, especially for sources that are scholarly or peer-reviewed.

Business Source Premier
A database with business articles and other resources spanning many topic. It is a solid starting point for your business research, especially for sources that are scholarly or peer-reviewed.

Digital Dissertations/Dissertation Abstracts
Database of dissertations and theses (mostly U.S.). Full text available varies by granting institution. Updated semiannually.

Scopus
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output.