Media and Strategic Communications (Journalism / Broadcasting): Online Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Accessible to wide range of readers from student to lay people, this authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. Written by distinguished scholar and author Marcel Danesi, and with an Introduction by Arthur Asa Berger, a leading figure in the world of media and communications, the dictionary also includes terms related to psychology, linguistics, aesthetics, computer science, semiotics, culture theory, anthropology, and more that have relevance in media studies.

The most accessible and up-to-date dictionary of its kind, this wide-ranging A–Z covers both interpersonal and mass communication, in all their myriad forms, encompassing advertising, digital culture, journalism, new media, telecommunications, and visual culture, among many other topics.

A Dictionary of Journalism is an accessible and authoritative quick reference dictionary. It covers over 1,400 wide-ranging entries onthe terms that are likely to be encountered by students of the subject,and aims to offer a broad, accessible point of reference on a never-topical and constantly-changing field that affects everyone's knowledge and perception of the world. Assuming little or noprior knowledge of the subject, it covers terminology relating to thepractice, business, and technology of journalism, as well as its concepts and theories, organizations and institutions, publications,and key events.

This fascinating dictionary covers the whole realm of social media, providing accessible, authoritative, and concise entries centred primarily on websites and applications that enable users to create and share content, or to participate in social networking.