- Library
- Guides
- Library Guides
- Entrepreneurship
- Company Information
Entrepreneurship: Company Information
Overview
Finding information such as finances, operating budget, personnel for any company is dependent on the size of the company and if it is a public or private company. Generally there is much more available information on a public company, through the company's web pages, federal regulators and broader coverage from the media. Private companies are limited to what they report to the public and federal regulators so detail information can be hard to find.
Finding financial information on PUBLIC COMPANIES
Besides the Library databases listed below also look at the company's web page and use EDGAR (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's site) for domestic public company's disclosure forms and reports.
- Mergent Online*Good starting point for any public company.
*Only covers U.S. companies
- NetAdvantageProvides industry surveys and company information with company descriptions, stocks & bond issues, earnings estimates, and dividend and split history.
Fiding newspaper & magazine articles on PUBLIC COMPANIES
If you are looking for articles on the company's market share within the industry or for a product use terms such as "market share" and name of the company when searching.
- FactivaBusiness database with broad coverage.
Make sure to expand DATE: range beyond 3 months.
Full text available for all articles but not full image - ABI/Inform (Proquest)General magazine, newspaper and trade magazine database. Type in name of the company
Finding financial information on PRIVATE COMPANIES
Databases listed below can be used for searching both private and public company information
- NetAdvantageEasiest way to find private companies. On the top menu bar select Screening and select Quick Screener. Then choose Private Company from the Company Type pull down menu.
- Mergent IntellectClick on Advanced Search and then click on the Public/Private tab in the Choose Criteria area.
Finding newspaper & magazine articles on PRIVATE COMPANIES
- If you are looking for articles on the company's market share within the industry or for a product, use terms such as "market share" and name of the company when searching.
- Don't overlook a general GOOGLE search for information about a small company
- For Oklahoma companies, search for articles in the Oklahoman and Tulsa World
- FactivaBusiness database with broad coverage.
Make sure to expand DATE: range beyond 3 months.
Full text available for all articles but not full image - Business Source EliteBusiness Source Elite provides full-text coverage for over 1,100 scholarly business, management, and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. This database includes full-text coverage dating back to 1985 and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. It is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
