- Library
- Guides
- Library Guides
- ENGL 3933: Shakespeare
- Citing Sources
ENGL 3933: Shakespeare: Citing Sources
This guide will cover the OSU Library resources to help you in English 3933 taught by Dr. Andrew Wadoski.
Citing Sources
For research papers on literature or humanities topics in general, the preferred bibliographic citation style is the Modern Language Association (MLA) Style, 7th Ed. Some professors could ask you to use the Chicago Manual of Style (16th Edition), or Turabian Style which is based on Chicago.
Citation Manuals—Print
Below are the locations of the print editions of the citation manuals for consultation in General Reference, 1st floor:
MLA Handbook by Call Number: 808.027 M685 2016ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016-04-01The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
MLA Style Manual And Guide to Scholarly PublicationCall Number: 808.27 G437m 2008The MLA style manual for authors of journal articles and books. There copies on the 4th floor in addition to ones in General Reference, 1st floor.
Chicago Manual of Style (16th Ed.)Call Number: 655.25 C532 2010This is the manual for the Chicago Manual of Style. There are copies on the 4th floor in addition to the ones in General Reference, 1st floor.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (7th Ed.) by Call Number: 808.02 T929m 2007This is the manual for Turabian Style (adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style). Additional copies are on the 4th floor in addition the ones in to General Reference, 1st floor.
Bibliographic Management Software & Online Style Guides
The OSU Library provides EndNote bibliographic management software free of charge to all OSU students, faculty, and staff. This software helps you format citations in MLA Style and over 200 other bibliographic styles, and works with Microsoft Word to help you create your Works Cited/bibliography pages. Use the link below to learn about EndNote, download the software and accompanying connection files, and to find out about training opportunities on how to use EndNote:
http://www.library.okstate.edu/bibmanager/index.htm
These are some guides on the Web to MLA and other citation styles. They can be used help formulate citations, but consult the print style books listed above if you have questions.
- Quick Guide to MLA Style (OSU Library) is a quick reference on how to cite common types of sources.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): MLA is a detailed reference source on MLA Style.
- MLA Handbook Companion Site (MLA) NOTE: To use this site, you much purchase a copy of the 7th Ed. of the MLA Handbook and register an account.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Chicago Manual of Style is a detailed reference source on the 16th Ed. of the manual.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online (University of Chicago Press) Online version of the book with examples.
