Skip to Main Content

Standards: ASHRAE

Basics for Locating Standards

1.  Confirm the standard number including the acronym and title by searching Google, or a standards search engine such as the NSSN (ANSI) website http://www.nssn.org/default.aspx or the IHS Standards Store http://global.ihs.com .  Assume you are looking for ISO 2371. A search of Google shows the following from the ISO website: ISO 2371:1974 - Field balancing equipment -- Description and evaluation.

2.  Search this library guide. a) On this guide, look for the respective acronym (on one of the tabs to a page) which corresponds to the needed standard and study the respective page if found, for an indication of a print or electronic index and the availability of full text in the print or electronic format.  Or, b) enter the acronym for the standard in question such as ANSI into the search bar above [insert link].  If a page is found, search for any indication of a print or electronic index and the availability of full text in print or electronic format.

3.  Search the library catalog for an individual standard. This assumes the standard is indexed in the catalogFrom the Library homepage http://www.library.okstate.edu, select Catalog Basic, select "Title search": (the default is keyword):
a) search with the standard number including the acronym ISO 2371 if that fails
b) search by standard title “Field balancing equipment – Description and evaluation”

4. If nothing found, contact the engineering librarian.   It is hard to know what might have been overlooked. 

5. If the Library does not own the standard, it is very unlikely that Interlibrary Services will be able to obtain the standard, due to licensing restrictions. 

6. Let the Library know of your interest in a standard.  This helps build the case for future purchasing decisions.  No guarantees, unfortunately.

ASHRAE

ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air Conditioning Engineers)

ASHRAE standards can be searched on the ASHRAE website, under Titles, Purposes, and Scopes.  Use <Control F> and search by the title or standard number.  You may find it easier to identify standards and verify the most recent version using Google, and study the results from standards vendors such as TechStreet.  Then, search the OSU Library Catalog by the standard title to determine its avalability.  If the library has the standard, it will most likely be an older version, which can be determined by comparing the date with the ASHRAE website.  The OSU library collection of ASHRAE standards is located in 3-ring binders in the basement, under the call number 697 A11054.  OSU does not have access to the electronic format of these standards. 

E-format: The Library owns no ASHRAE standards in the e-format.

Print format:

ASHRAE Handbook: The ASHRAE Handbook is another means of identifying ASHRAE and other standards that pertain to this field.  Each of the four volumes in the set contains a subject index. The Handbook does not contain the full text of standards.     

ASHRAE Handbook:  This 4-volume set is located in General Reference, 697 A1051,
2010 ASHRAE Handbook—Refrigeration,
2009 ASHRAE Handbook—Fundamentals,
2008 ASHRAE Handbook—HVAC Systems and Equipment,
2007 ASHRAE Handbook—HVAC Applications. 

The e-format of this 4-volume set is incomplete in Knovel. There is not an Inch-Pound and SI edition for each volume.