Skip to Main Content

Standards: ASTM

Basics for Locating Standards

1.  Confirm the standard number including the acronym and title by searching Google, or a standards search engine such as the NSSN (ANSI) website http://www.nssn.org/default.aspx or the IHS Standards Store http://global.ihs.com .  Assume you are looking for ISO 2371. A search of Google shows the following from the ISO website: ISO 2371:1974 - Field balancing equipment -- Description and evaluation.

2.  Search this library guide. a) On this guide, look for the respective acronym (on one of the tabs to a page) which corresponds to the needed standard and study the respective page if found, for an indication of a print or electronic index and the availability of full text in the print or electronic format.  Or, b) enter the acronym for the standard in question such as ANSI into the search bar above [insert link].  If a page is found, search for any indication of a print or electronic index and the availability of full text in print or electronic format.

3.  Search the library catalog for an individual standard. This assumes the standard is indexed in the catalogFrom the Library homepage http://www.library.okstate.edu, select Catalog Basic, select "Title search": (the default is keyword):
a) search with the standard number including the acronym ISO 2371 if that fails
b) search by standard title “Field balancing equipment – Description and evaluation”

4. If nothing found, contact the engineering librarian.   It is hard to know what might have been overlooked. 

5. If the Library does not own the standard, it is very unlikely that Interlibrary Services will be able to obtain the standard, due to licensing restrictions. 

6. Let the Library know of your interest in a standard.  This helps build the case for future purchasing decisions.  No guarantees, unfortunately.

ASTM

About: More than 12,000 ASTM standards in this collection address issues of concern to more than 130 industry areas.  ASTM standards address the needs of manufacturing, research and development, product testing, quality systems, and commercial transactions.

E-format: The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is the complete set of ASTM standards, journals, symposia papers/Special Technical Publications (STPs), and manuals in the electronic format.   Also, you may access the ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library through the Library website, select the Databases List, alphabetically within "A’s”.  The database includes the most current edition of all standards, including those that have not been updated in the most recent calendar year, but not the previous version of standards, known as “historical standards”.  Access to the full text of the electronic format is not available directly from the ASTM website, http://www.astm.org/.  Use the link or follow the instructions, above.  The Library purchased the electronic format in 2011, and the print subscription was ceased after the complete set of volumes for the 2010 edition were received.

Print: The Print format of 2010 ASTM Standards is available in reference under the title Annual book of ASTM Standards, call number 620.112 A512bs.  The print format prior to 2010 is located in the basement under the same call number.  If you must pull the print from the shelf, use the database to identify the standard of interest, say for example you determine ASTM D7033 - 07: Standard Practice for Establishing Design Capacities for Oriented Strand Board (OSB) Wood-Based Structural-Use Panels.   The page identifying the standard indicates "Book of Standards Volume: 04.10", which is the print volume that you pull from the shelf.  The print volumes are arranged by topic, and you may find that browsing is useful to gain an understanding of the topic matter.