- Library
- Guides
- Library Guides
- Languages and Literatures
- Other Databases for Languages/Cultures
Languages and Literatures: Other Databases for Languages/Cultures
Mango Languages -- Language-Learning Database
Mango Languages is an online language-learning system provided by the OSU Library. It teaches conversation skills and has modules with exercises to help learners develop their languages skills and practice at their own pace. At the start screen, you can create a personalized login for the datbase), or click on the Quick Start button to begin exploring Mango Languages.
The database currently includes modules on
- Spanish
- French
- Japanese
- Brazilian Portuguese
- German
- Mandarin Chinese
- Greek
- Italian
- Russian, and many more.
OSU ID (O-Key login) required for access. It can be used both on- and off-campus.
For more information, see the Mango Languages FAQs.
Other Database with Multi-Lingual Sources
Below are some other databases offered by the OSU Library that have material in other languages. These include articles, e-books, historical and modern newspapers and other periodicals, and other sources. This is not a comprehensive list. OSU ID (O-Key login) required for access.
- International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (2 ed.)The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. This interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsLLBA covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Indexing covers over 1,200 serials, with links to full-text of articles in hundreds of journals. Coverage from 1973 to present.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, covers the international literature on sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- FactivaProvides access to company and industry financial data and news stories, as well as 6,000 full-text newspapers.
- Film & Television Literature IndexA bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications and selective coverage for 300.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextSPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1930, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
- Latin American NewspapersA collection of more than 55 fully searchable Latin America newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
- African NewspapersAfrican Newspapers provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspaper titles, published between 1800 and 1922. African Newspapers features titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.
- Early English Books OnlineFollowing its digital launch in 1998, Early English Books Online now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700. For more information on searching EEBO, consult this guide.
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineThis collection is an extensive digital archive of primary source material from the nineteenth century, including books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, state papers, maps, and other ephemera. It covers the United Kingdom, Europe, the United States, Asia, and Africa.
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926This database contains digital versions of titles found in Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana, 1500-1926. Included are digital versions of almost 37,000 titles of books, broadsides, pamphlets devoted to life in the Western Hemisphere. The full text of each work included may be searched using keywords, subjects, authors, titles, or geographical areas. The publisher expects this database to be completed around 55,000 titles.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldA reference collection that provides statistics and information on the living languages of the world.
