Are you looking for research on open education? Would you like to contribute to scholarship and advocacy related to open education? There are several groups that can help you get started.

Open Education Group

The Open Education Group includes interdisciplinary scholars conducting original research exploring the impact of OER use on student success. The group also designs and shares methodological and conceptual frameworks for others to use in similar projects. The Open Education Group partners with the Hewlett Foundation to provide support for early career researchers conducting studies in open education.

Open Education Group Research Fellows

The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation sponsors annual open education research fellowships supporting early career researchers exploring open education. The work of the Open Education Group Research Fellows is openly published. Visit the Open Education Group Research Fellows Google Scholar page or see the group's curated publication list to find out more.

GO-GN Global OER Graduate Network

The Global OER Graduate Network (GO-GN) is a network of PhD candidates around the world whose research projects include a focus on open education. Established open education researchers, experts, supervisors and mentors connect with these students to form a global open education community of practice. Visit the GO-GN Google Scholar page, view their recorded monthly webinars or check out their resources and guides to learn more about their work. Interested in participating in open education research? Apply to join GO-GN!

Open Education Association

The purpose of the Open Education Association is to strengthen and expand the field of open education in the United States. This national organization brings together practitioners, creators, researchers, leaders, and advocates committed to benefitting society through the free development and sharing of knowledge. Learn more, explore their tiered membership model, and get involved!

There are several journals that publish the work of open education researchers. Most of these are open access journals, invite submissions from a broad range of disciplines, and many do not require article processing charges.

Journal of Open Educational Resources in Higher Education (JOERHE)

JOERHE features content related to OER, open pedagogy, open access, open data and similar topics. The pieces are specifically focused within the context of higher education in the United States and Canada.

Journal of Open Initiatives in Academic Libraries (JOI)

JOI is an open access, peer-reviewed, scholarly publication that explores and promotes the advancement of open research and scholarship initiatives involving academic libraries or other academic and research support units.

Open Learning: The Journal of Open, Distance, and e-Learning

This journal is an international, hybrid open access journal in the field of open, flexible, distance, and e-learning. They publish research articles, case studies, and reviews.

OpenPraxis

OpenPraxis is a peer-reviewed, open access scholarly journal. The journal’s focus is on research and innovation in open, distance, and flexible education.

The International Journal of Open Educational Resources (IJOER)

Published bi-annually, IJOER is an open access, peer-reviewed academic publication sponsored by the American Public University System and the Policy Studies Organization. The journal has an emphasis on representing open educational resources in teaching, learning, scholarship and policy.

The International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning (IRRODL)

IRRODL is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to advancing original research, theoretical insights, and best practices in open and distributed learning worldwide.

AAC&U OER Research Database

This database curates already published work focusing on the impact of OER implementation on student success. It is intended to provide a free and easily accessible way for instructors, administrators, students, policy-makers, and other stakeholders to locate research and literature on the use of OER and open educational practices. The team shares the curation methodology which informs how articles are selected and categorized. Search the database by keyword, publication year, author, or category. They also invite submission and recommendations of pieces focused on OER and open educational practices that are not currently in the AAC&U OER Research Database.

Oklahoma State University partners with other organizations and collaboratives in order to support students, faculty and staff advocating for facilitating student success through the use of open educational resources. These organizations also provide professional and scholarly networking and leadership opportunities. Reach out to kathy.essmiller@okstate.edu to get involved.

Open Education Network (OEN)

The Open Education Network includes nearly 1,800 public and private higher education organizations worldwide. It provides a community through which members can work together to remove barriers and enhance student success through the use of open educational resources and practices. The OEN provides professional development opportunities, hosts networking events, supports the creation of open textbooks and hosts the Open Textbook Library. Visit the OEN blog for a calendar of upcoming events.Contact kathy.essmiller@okstate.edu for more information about the OSU OEN membership.

Driving OER Sustainability for Student Success (DOERS)

The DOERS Collaborative includes higher education systems and statewide/provincewide initiatives in the United States and Canada that are committed to supporting student success through the use of open educational resources. Through working groups and committees, the collaborative aims to enhance and amplify existing research, highlight ways OER can advance student success, and help build capacity for systems to scale and sustain OER programs. Contact kathy.essmiller@okstate.edu for more information about the OSU System DOERS membership.