Skip to Main Content

Chemical Engineering Guide: Articles

Primary Article Databases

Compendex
Regardless of your major, start here.  Very broad subject coverage of all engineering disciplines.   

Inspec
This database is focused on electrical engineering, computer science and physics.  Inspec indexes IEEE and several physics publishers. You may prefer to go directly to IEEE

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Science Direct
This database has a mix of science and engineering content.  All content is full-text. 

Google Scholar - located on the Databases list

Chemical Engineering-Specific Databases

In addition to the primary article databases for engineering, consider the following databases for chemical engineering-specific topics.

SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar Account Registration Information  -  New users are required to create an account.  Select the account registration link to the left.  Log in to the proxy server with your OSU email and password.  Then in SciFinder, you will create a username and password. 

ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database. Search by text and structure to access over 28 million structures from hundreds of data sources. Draw structures using software embedded in the website.


Biological Abstracts
Coverage on life science topics from botany to zoology, includes coverage relevant to biosystems and agriculture topics.

CAB Abstracts
agriculture, food sciences & nutrition, and veterinary medicine publications

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Research Library

The database includes a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. 

Academic Search Premier

Broad coverage of all academic subjects. 

 

 

Video: Find the full-text of an article from Compendex

Compendex Tutorials

Here are 2 video tutorials on searching Compendex.