Librarian
Clarke Iakovakis
Contact:
Research & Learning Services Division
306 Edmon Low Library
Stillwater, OK 74078
306 Edmon Low Library
Stillwater, OK 74078
405-744-9743
Contact Us
Starting Points
-
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
by
"In nearly 700 entries, this set documents the full range of the African American experience during the period from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass and shows how all aspects of American culture, history and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans."
Call Number: 973 E553 (4th Floor or online)ISBN: 9780195167771Publication Date: 2006-04-06 -
Encyclopedia of the Black Arts Movement
by
"The Black Arts Movement (BAM) encompassed a group of artists, musicians, novelists, and playwrights whose work combined innovative approaches to literature, film, music, visual arts, and theatre. With a heightened consciousness of black agency and autonomy--along with the radical politics of the civil rights movement, the Black Muslims, and the Black Panthers--these figures represented a collective effort to defy the status quo of American life and culture. Between the late 1950s and the end of the 1970s, the movement produced some of America's most original and controversial artists and intellectuals. In Encyclopedia of the Blacks Arts Movement, Verner D. Mitchell and Cynthia Davis have collected essays on the key figures of the movement, including Maya Angelou, James Baldwin, Amiri Baraka, Nikki Giovanni, Larry Neal, Sun Ra, Sonia Sanchez, Ntozake Shange, and Archie Shepp. Additional entries focus on Black Theatre magazine, the Negro Ensemble Company, lesser known individuals--including Kathleen Collins, Tom Dent, Bill Gunn, June Jordan, and Barbara Ann Teer--and groups, such as AfriCOBRA and the New York Umbra Poetry Workshop. The Black Arts Movement represented the most prolific expression of African American literature since the Harlem Renaissance of the 1920s. Featuring essays by contemporary scholars and rare photographs of BAM artists, Encyclopedia of the Blacks Arts Movement is an essential reference for students and scholars of twentieth-century American literature and African American cultural studies."
Publication Date: 2019 -
Black Women in America (2nd Ed.)
by
The second edition of Black Women in America, edited by Darlene Clark Hine, provides expanded coverage of the achievements and contributions of African American women.
Winner of the Dartmouth Medal for Outstanding Reference Publication of 1994, the first edition of Black Women in America broke new ground—pulling together for the first time all of the research in this vast but underrepresented field to provide one of the strongest building blocks of Black Women’s Studies. Hailed by Eric Foner of Columbia University as “one of those publishing events which changes the way we look at a field,” it simultaneously filled a void in the literature and sparked new research and concepts regarding African American women in history. Since the first edition was published, a new generation of American black women has flourished, demanding this landmark reference be brought up to date. Women such as Venus and Serena Williams, Condoleezza Rice, Carol Moseley Braun, Ruth Simmons, and Ann Fudge have become household names for their remarkable contributions to sports, politics, academia, and business. In nearly 600 entries, Black Women in America celebrates the remarkable achievements of black women throughout history, highlights their ongoing contributions in America today, and represents the new research the first edition helped to generate.
ISBN: 9780195156775Publication Date: 2005
-
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.
-
Black Studies Center
Consisting of scholarly journals, historical indexes, and reference books, the Black Studies Center provides information from the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals Database, The Chicago Defender (1910-75), the Black Literature Index, and more.
-
Black Thought and CultureBlack Thought and Culture is a collection of approximately 100,000 pages of nonfiction writings by major American black leaders which covers 250 years of history. Providing a large amount of previously inaccessible material, including interviews, periodicals, and letters, the ideas of just over 1,000 authors present the evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
-
Black Studies in VideoBlack Studies in Video is a black studies portfolio that brings together over 800 seminal documentaries, interviews, and previously archived footage that survey the black experience. The videos covered African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues dating back to 1949 to present day.
-
Contemporary Black BiographyProvides biographical and bibliographical essays about influential people of African descent around the globe who have made significant contributions in their countries and worldwide.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American StudiesOxford Bibliographies offer in-depth research guides and overview articles within academic subjects. Topic areas in the African American Studies bibliography include art, music, drama, and culture; history; individuals; law; literature; politics; religion; and sports.
-
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History "A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life and current condition of the African-American community."
-
Music Online: African American Music Reference "Chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.Full text from major reference works. Biographies and personal narratives from oral histories. Manuscripts, song-sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources cover jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrels, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of Black American musical expression."
-
BlackPast.org "BlackPast.org, an online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet. These materials include an online encyclopedia of over 4,000 entries, the complete transcript of more than 300 speeches by African Americans, other people of African ancestry, and those concerned about race, given between 1789 and 2016, over 140 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines and six gateway pages with links to digital archive collections, African and African American museums and research centers, genealogical research websites, and more than 200 other website resources on African American and global African history. Additionally, 100 major African American museums and research centers and over 400 other website resources on Black history are also linked to the website, as are nine bibliographies listing more than 5,000 major books categorized by author, title, subject, and date of publication."
-
#SchomburgSyllabus "The #SchomburgSyllabus archives Black-authored and Black-related online educational resources to document Black studies, movements, and experiences in the 21st century. In connecting these web-archived resources to the Schomburg Center’s own unique materials, the project honors and recognizes the source and strength of Black self-education practices, collective study, and librarianship. The #SchomburgSyllabus is curated by Schomburg Center staff and organized into 27 themes to foster a greater understanding of the Black experience."