Graphic Design: Web resources
- AD*Access"The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment 'Library 2000' Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."
- AIGA Design ArchivesUse for design research/inspiration. (Recommended by your teachers!)
- Design & Publishing CenterThe center provides a comprehensive visual communications site offering "design, typography, graphics, illustration, writing, printing, publishing, advertising, signs..."
- Symbols.com"Symbols.com contains more than 2,500 Western signs, arranged into 54 groups according to their graphic characteristics. In 1,600 articles their histories, uses, and meanings are thoroughly discussed."
Associations & Organizations
- AIGA: The Professional Organization for Design". . . the place designers turn to first to exchange ideas and information, participate in critical analysis, and research and advance education and ethical practices."
- Graphic Artists Guild"We are a Guild: a union of men and women in the same craft or trade whose purpose is to uphold and improve standards and protect the rights of its members."
- National Association of Printers and Lithographers (NAPL)Several sites of interest to the graphics communications industry are accessible through the association's homepage.
Web Sites for Graphic Design
- Cooper Hewitt MuseumThe Cooper-Hewitt collection is international in scope, includes both historic and contemporary design, and includes one-of-a-kind and mass-produced items. The collection focuses on drawings, prints and graphic works; product design, textiles, and wall coverings.
- Design Museum (London)The Design Museum is one of the world’s leading museums devoted to contemporary design in every form from furniture to graphics, and architecture to industrial design. Exhibitions focus on design in contemporary culture.
- Design ObserverBeautifully designed site featuring articles, visual features, opportunities, and ideas to inspire graphic designers.
- Displaya curated collection of important modern, mid 20th century graphic design books, periodicals, advertisements and ephemera