Skip to main content

Best Practices: Let them search

Let them search

In a study, users indiscriminately entered queries into any text box that caught their eye.

The same study reported users change search strategy only 1% of the time. Users increasingly rely on individual pages listed by search engines instead of finding better ways to tackle problems.

No: Yes:

Find Articles:

CAB Abstracts - This database is international in scope and covers journals, books, and conferences of all languages and countries from 1900 to the present. Its subjects include agriculture, food science, nutrition, and veterinary medicine. When you search this database, use both scientific names and common names of species.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts - covers all aspects of "food sciences and technology, including microbiology, toxicology, hygiene, economics, statistics, engineering, and packaging."

Agricola - The National Agricultural Library (NAL) produces this database which covers animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, and agricultural economics.

Science Direct - This database is a scientific research index that contains journals, conference papers, and books in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. All journal articles are available full text online. This is a great resource for research on epidemiological issues in animal science.

Vet Med Resource - over 1.4 million records on veterinary medicine and animal health. It includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, and books.

PubMed - this database is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It includes information sources related to medicine and the health care system.

Springer Images - Full color images associated with scientific content.

National Renderers Association - this website is not hosted by Oklahoma State University, but it provides information on the rendering industry and is a leader in promoting recycling and sustainability in the meat industry.

Find Articles


Databases covering Agriculture