Skip to main content

Finding Technical Standards at the OSU Libraries: Request a Standard

Standards on Demand

Search, select and obtain standards using IHS Standards Expert

Available to current OSU faculty, staff and students.

Through the the Library's subscription to IHS, you may select technical standards in the full-text format.  Selections are reviewed against criteria which includes cost, and within 24 to 48 hours purchased standards are made available via the IHS Expert interface. 

To see what has been purchased through IHS, search IHS, see the video:   
Searching for a standard that is part of the collection
Download the latest version of Adobe Flash Player
 

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

Instructions from the video: To view standards that are part of the collection, proceed as follows. Go to the library website, select databases. http://www.library.okstate.edu/databases/ Select “S” on the alpha list.     Select “Standards”.   Once inside the IHS standards website you will need to create an account. For the username you _must_ use your firstname.lastname@okstate.edu  account, because the vendor requires valid okstate student, staff, or  faculty identification.   Create a unique password that you do not use for sensitive data, bank accounts, or other financial instruments, etc.     Using your username and password log-in.  You will have a choice between IHS Engineering Workbench and IHS Standards Expert, chose the latter of the two, IHS Standards Expert.  You will see a link labelled What do I have Access to?  Click on it. Then select Custom Collection CC24Z at the bottom of the page.  The standards are listed alpha-numerically. 

Request a Standard

To place a request for a standard that has not already been purchased, use IHS , see the video.          

Searching for and requesting a standard that is not part of the collection
Download the latest version of Flash Player

 

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

Instructions from the video: If you’ve searched IHS Standards Expert and find a document you need, simply click on the Shopping Cart icon. When you click on the Shopping Cart, you are presented with an option to purchase a single user copy in the print or online format.  Instead of those options chose, “Request Subscription Access”, which is located immediately below. You are then prompted to enter a justification for the request before submitting the request. As soon as you submit your request, the unit administrator will receive an email.  You should receive an email soon, regarding your interest in that standard. Decisions to purchase are based on cost and other factors. You can view the status of your subscription requests at any time using the My Subscription Requests link on the My Account tab.