Skip to main content

Metadata


Tags: metadata

The Metadata Unit supports the mission and vision of the Library in the planning, development, creation, enhancement, and implementation of non-MARC metadata standards that facilitate discoverability and access to scholarly and cultural heritage resources in digital collections. Ensures digital collections meet national standards to support interoperability of the metadata in discovery platforms. Serves as a resource on metadata standards and practices. Participates in collaboration within Library departments and outside the Library with other stakeholders for the development and implementation of digital projects. 

Metadata Standards and Best Practices Documentation
To harmonize metadata across digital collections the OSU Library Metadata Guide and Best Practices serves as a resource for Library departments responsible for metadata projects. The Metadata Unit is responsible for the development and revisions to the Guide in collaboration with Library departments.

Metadata Application Profiles (MAPs)
A Metadata Application Profile (hereafter referred to as a data dictionary) is utilized in the metadata design process to ensure
consistency, interoperability and assessment for metadata content. The data dictionary serves as a set of guidelines and documented decisions along with serving as a resource for training for each collection as needed. The data dictionary is created in a spreadsheet, typically, with the element set, field labels, known values, encoding schemas, and input guidelines,
The data dictionary file is kept in the collection specific folder or with large collections that have individual collections (e.g., Cooperative Extension Service) in its own folder on the T:\Digitization folder. Data dictionaries for collections created for other stakeholders outside of the DRDS department will be provided to document the metadata creation or remediated. 

ORCID
The ORCID identifier will be included in the metadata for records in the institutional repository, if available for OSU authors. The ORCID is also part of the faculty member's profile page, if supplied by the author. Enter multiple ORCIDs in the same order as the listed OSU authors in the metadata elements in one element separated by double pipes (ll). Use the local field: osu.authorOrcid.uri.

[[Under review is the entry of ORCID by Sean with OU]]

Resources for standardization of Faculty names, Department names, Subject terms and Genre type terms
As needed the following resources are utilized to standardized names and terms:
OSU Graduate Faculty Database
FAST subject headings
Local_Dept_Colleges_2016 file on T:/Drive
Local_TypeGenreMetadata file on T:/Drive

Other resources: OCLC Authority File and VIAF (Virtual International Authority File)

See also the OSU Library Metadata Guide and Best Practices for additional resources.

Faculty Submissions
Submissions from the faculty for the institutional repository are given top priority for processing by the Metadata Unit when notified of availability. Since faculty submissions can vary in types and formats each submission is evaluated to determine the appropriate metadata.

Pre-prints. In the Description element provide information indicating the version of the article as a pre-print. Check online or publisher website for the availability of the final version. Example: This is a preprint of an article whose final version has been published in [journal title], [publisher], [date]  

Post-prints. In the Description element include the publisher statement or provide a description indicating the version of the article as a Post-print.

If a post-print/final version is received for a pre-print. The pre-print will be archived (verify with Nicole see 02/23/2017)

A DOI is not created for a pre-print or post-print submission, but is included in the metadata if available from the author or publisher's website. Include a DOI on the pre-print even if links to the final version.

DOI assignment began in 2017

Peer Reviewed/Not Peer Reviewed
Verify the peer review status by searching the journal for the article in SHERPA/RoMEO or the publisher's website.

Rights Statements
Three examples:

For an article, book chapter, conference proceedings that already been published.
This material has been previously published. In the Oklahoma State University Library's insitutional repository this version is made available through the open access principles and the terms of agreement/consent between the author(s) and the publisher. The permission policy on the use, reproduction or distribution of the material falls under fair use for educational, scholarship, and research purposes. Contact Digital Resources and Discovery Services at lib-dlh@okstate.edu or 405-744-9161 for further information.

General statement.
In the Oklahoma State University Library's institutional repository this paper is made available through the open access principles and the terms of agreement/consent between the author(s) and the publisher. The permission policy on the use, reproduction or distribution of the article falls under fair use for educational, scholarship, and research purposes. Contact Digital Resources and Discovery Services at lib-dlh@okstate.edu or 405-744-9161 for further information.

General statement, if a copyright statement appears on the item.
The author(s) retain the copyright or have the right to deposit the item giving the Oklahoma State University Library a limited, non-exclusive right to share this material in its institutional repository. Contact Digital Resources and Discovery Services at lib-dls@okstate.edu or 405-744-9161 for the permission policy on the use, reproduction or distribution of this material.

Electronic Thesis and Dissertations (ETD)

A DOI is not created for a ETD

Embargo.  Third Party Search Restrictions

List of DSpace Elements.  List of local DSpace elements