Skip to Main Content

Acquisitions

A collection of documentation guides for Acquisitions tasks and processes.

Description and Procedures

YBP Shelf Ready materials are received by Acquisitions in the Main Library.

Materials will have a tan SHELF READY flag inserted, for ease of sorting by Processing.  Shelf Ready materials should be delivered to the Copy Cataloger in Cataloging.

The materials received may or may not have spine labels, depending on whether they were shipped on the Literature account or the regular account, and if the bibliographic record has an 082.  We requested that LIT materials not have spine labels affixed, as we frequently have to adjust the Dewey anyway. 

The review serves several purposes.  It is, effectively, copy cataloging.  The review will verify the following:

  1. Presence of property plate
  2. Quality of MARC bibliographic record
  3. Uniqueness of call number, especially Cutter

Follow these steps to review these materials.  Before you start, open two Alma tabs:  one with Browse Shelf Listing and the other regular.

  1. ALMA (regular window):  all titles quick search:  scan in Barcode
  2. Open front cover of book to verify presence of property plate.  If missing (rare), affix one.  If you need guidance, consult Susan Casey in Processing.
  3. Verify that the spine label matches the call number.  NOTE:  due to a bug in Alma, prefixes for QUARTO and FOLIO will not be in the call number and must be added manually.
  4. ALMA: select and copy entire call number
  5. ALMA (shelf list window):  paste call number and search. If no call number, go on to step 5.
  6. ALMA (regular window): click on the title link to view bibliographic record.  Check for presence of physical description in field 300.  Minimum:  paging and size. If physical description is missing, check OCLC for an updated record. 
  7. If the size is 31 - 40 cm, make sure the spine label includes the prefix "QUARTO".  Edit the holding record to add 852$k QUARTO to the call number.
  8. If the size is 41 cm or more, make sure the spine label includes the prefix "FOLIO".  Edit the holding record to add 852$k FOLIO to the call number.
  9. 6xx fields other than 650 (subject headings) dictate double-Cuttering in most cases.  The first Cutter will be for the first 6xx.  The Cutter should include a workmark if there is a subfield $t.  Adjust the Cutter as needed to fit the sequence in our catalog.
  10. Check for 948 dif / cf note in bibliographic record.  Such notes indicate either an alternate edition or a related volume.  For alternate editions, we usually assign the current edition the same Dewey and Cutter as the previous edition and include a year designation in an additional 852$i subfield.  If there has been a significant change of title, consult with Ellen whether to alter the Cutter to match the current title.
  11. ALMA (shelf list window):  verify uniqueness of Cutter. Adjust as necessary.

If the affixed spine label needs no adjustments, place the book on the cart and move to the next book.

Interventions:

  1. Items with multiple Cutter fields will need additional $i signs inserted in the holdings 852.
  2. Titles consisting of multiple volumes will need 866 holdings statement inserting in the holdings record.
  3. All LIT titles will require re-labeling intervention.  Give books that are general writings about literature (i.e., Romantic Period, Science Fiction vs. Jane Austen or Ray Bradbury) to Hannah Fortney.  The rest will need Deweys adjusted to their base (811 instead of 811.06).  Follow local rules for Shakespeare and ancient authors.
  4. Titles without call numbers: Check OCLC for an update to the received record. If our record has been updated, export it and our record will be overlaid.  Proceed to edit the holdings record to insert call number, Cutter(s), and year information (if needed). 
  5. If our record has NOT been updated, do a general search in OCLC for any better record cataloged in English.  Edit the received bib to change the OCLC number to the number of the incoming record.  Delete the 260 if present.  Save and release our record before exporting the new record from OCLC.  BE SURE TO REMOVE OUR HOLDINGS FROM THE OLD RECORD AND ADD THEM TO THE NEW RECORD.  Proceed to edit the holdings record
  6. Cutter adjustment:  adjust the Cutter as needed in the holdings 852.  Mark out the call number on the affixed spine label.
  7. Lousy bibliographic records:  occasionally the book gets a call number and spine label affixed, but the record is poor.  Check OCLC for an update or a better record and export, following the guidance in #5, above.  WATCH OUT for changes of author, title, and 6xx fields in the new record.  Rarely, the Dewey will be different as well.  In all of these cases, re-labeling will be required.
  8. If you can't find a suitable record, pass the book on to Ellen for Original Cataloging treatment.

Once the entire cart has been reviewed, proceed to scan in titles according to their next stop:

  1. Reshelving:  ACQ Scan:  Done = YES, CIRC Scan-In
  2. Relabeling:  ACQ Scan: Done = YES
  3. Requested items to ILS / CIRC:  ACQ Scan: Done = YES
  4. Hannah:  ACQ Scan: Copy Cataloging.  Done = NO
  5. Ellen: ACQ Scan: Original Cataloging, Done = NO

Relabel volumes as needed.

Remove the shelf ready flag and place volumes for reshelving on the reshelving cart.

Remove the shelf ready flag and hand-deliver requested volumes to ILS or CIRC as indicated on the inserted Notify flag.

Retain (or insert) the shelf ready flag in all volumes moving to a different ACQ Tech Service workflow.

STATS:

Cataloging stats must also be recorded.  Only count volumes delivered to reshelving, ILS / Circ, and relabeling.  Added copies and volumes are counted separately from new titles. Volumes moving to another Tech Service process will be counted by the cataloger responsible for that process.