Skip to Main Content

PETE 4343 Reservoir Engineering and Well Testing: Locate journal articles in petroleum engineering

Primary Article Databases

Compendex
Regardless of your major, start here.  Very broad subject coverage of all engineering disciplines.   

Inspec
This database is focused on electrical engineering, computer science and physics.  Inspec indexes IEEE and several physics publishers. You may prefer to go directly to IEEE

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Science Direct
This database has a mix of science and engineering content.  All content is full-text. 

Google Scholar - located on the Databases list

Petroleum Engineering-Specific Databases

OnePetro is an online index of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry. It contains more than 145,000 documents produced by 18 publishing partners, including the Society of Petroleum Engineers, which maintains and operates OnePetro. OnePetro contains subject matter from other fields which have a direct bearing on the oil and gas industry, such as tunneling for building roads and corrosion issues in numerous industries.

SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar Account Registration Information  -  New users are required to create an account.  Select the account registration link to the left.  Log in to the proxy server with your OSU email and password.  Then in SciFinder, you will create a username and password. SciFinder
​SciFinder is the most comprehensive resource available for searching the chemistry literature.  Produced by CAS (Chemical Abstract Service, a division of the American Chemical Society). Contains millions of journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books. New users must register & set up an account (see: "SciFinder - Account Setup"). 

 

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Research Library

The database includes a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. 

Academic Search Premier

Broad coverage of all academic subjects. 

 

 

Video: Find the full-text of an article from Compendex

Compendex Tutorials

Here are 2 video tutorials on searching Compendex.