Skip to Main Content

Finding Images: Architecture, Landscape Architecture: Landscape Architecture

Landscape Architecture Images

Large collection of lantern slides of American buildings and landscapes built during the period 1850-1920. Source materials for this collection come from Harvard's Graduate School of Design. Included is the work of Harvard faculty Frederick Law Olmsted, Bremer W. Pond, and James Sturgis Pray, as well as that of other landscape architects throughout the country. The collection offers views of cities, buildings, parks, and gardens, including Boston's Park System.

The American Environmental Photographs collection consists of 4,500 photographs documenting natural environments, ecologies, and plant communities in the United States at the end of the nineteenth and the beginning of the twentieth century.

Photographs showing landscapes, geological and other features of portions of the western territory of the United States, obtained in connection with geographical and geological explorations and surveys west of the 100th meridian, seasons of 1871, 1872

Collection of drawings, engravings and lithographs for the American garden architecture which was to have been "published in monthly editions of six engravings, and descriptions, from January 1877," but actually never appeared. 

The Environmental Design Archives holds nearly 100 collections documenting the built and landscaped environment. These records span a century, 1890-1990, and contain primary source materials such as correspondence, reports, specifications, drawings, photographs, and artifacts.

Consisting of approximately 11,000 images that document the architecture, landscape and urban planning of sites across the United States - with a particular emphasis on Chicago and its suburbs - and, to a lesser extent, internationally, The Historic Architecture and Landscape Image collection, or HALIC, contains mounted photographic prints, lantern slides (both black and white and hand-colored), and postcards dating from the 1860s to the 1970s.

From Oregon State University, this site provides images and information on over 900 landscape plants.

This site contains images and descriptions of parks, markets, downtown areas, civic centers and more. It contains a database of images and articles and blogs about public space design and utilization.