Skip to Main Content

Writing & Citing for Architecture: Citing & Citation Style Manuals

Local Resources & Services

Citation Style Manuals

Each academic discipline uses a specific style for preparing citations. This style dictates the elements and their order in a citation as well as the format of the bibliography. For writing assignments in art history and architectural history, use the Chicago Manual of Style.

Chicago Manual of Style

Turabian – Kate L. Turabian from the University of Chicago

 

Examples

Book

Generic Bibliography Template

Author. Title of Book. Location: Publisher, Date.

Example of Bibliography Entry

Scahill, Jeremy. Dirty Wars: The World is a Battlefield. New York: Nation Books, 2013.

Generic Note Template

Author, Title of Book (Location: Publisher, Date).

Example of Note

1. Jeremy Scahill, Dirty Wars: The World is a Battlefield (New York: Nation Books, 2013).

View the "Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Citing Books & eBooks" tutorial

 

Chapter of an Edited Book

Bibliography Template

Chapter Author. "Title of Chapter." In Book Title, edited by Editor Names, pages of chapter. Location: Publisher, Date.

Bibliography

Kassam, Zayn. "Gender." In A Companion to Muslim Ethics, edited by Amyn B. Sajoo, 105-118. London: I.B. Tauris, 2010.

Note Template

Chapter Author, "Title of Chapter," in Book Title, ed. Editor Names (Location: Publisher, Date), page(s) being cited.

Note

2. Zayn Kassam, "Gender," in A Companion to Muslim Ethics, ed. Amyn B. Sajoo (London: I.B. Tauris, 2010), 112.

View the "Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Citing Books & eBooks" tutorial

 

eBook

Bibliography Template

Author. Title of eBook. Location: Publisher, Date. eBook database.

Bibliography

Pace, Tyler N., ed. Bioethics: Issues and Dilemmas. New York: Nova, 2011. Ebook Central.

Note Template

Author, Title of eBook. (Location: Publisher, Date), eBook database.

Note

3. Tyler N. Pace, ed., Bioethics: Issues and Dilemmas (New York: Nova, 2011), Ebook Central.

Comments

  • ed. means editor.

  • Most library eBooks are offered through Ebook Central or EBSCO.

View the "Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Citing Books & eBooks" tutorial

 

Journal Article in Database

Bibliography Template

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. X (Date): pages. DOI or a stable/persistent URL.

Bibliography (with DOI)

Ametrano, Irene Mass. "Teaching Ethical Decision Making: Helping Students Reconcile Personal and Professional Values." Journal of Counseling & Development 92, no. 2 (2014): 154-161. https://doi.org/10.1002/j.1556-6676.2014.00143.x.

Bibliography (no DOI)

Fowler, T., and L. A. Selby-Bigge. "Some Fundamental Ethical Controversies." Mind 15, no. 57 (1890): 89-99. http://www.jstor.org/stable/2247363.

Note Template

Author, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume, no. X (Date): page(s) being directly cited, DOI, database, or a stable/persistent URL.

Note (with DOI)

4. Irene Mass Ametrano, "Teaching Ethical Decision Making: Helping Students Reconcile Personal and Professional Values," Journal of Counseling & Development 92, no. 2 (2014): 157, https://doi.org/10.1002/j.1556-6676.2014.00143.x.

Note (no DOI)

5. T. Fowler and L. A. Selby-Bigge, "Some Fundamental Ethical Controversies," Mind 15, no. 57 (1890): 92, JSTOR.

View the "Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Citing Journal Articles" tutorial

 

Webpage

Bibliography Template

Author. "Webpage Title." Website Title. Date. URL.

Bibliography (with date)

Resnik, David B. "What is Ethics in Research & Why Is it Important?" National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences. May 1, 2011. http://www.niehs.nih.gov/research/resources/bioethics/whatis/.

Bibliography (no date)

Kline, Austin. "Descriptive Ethics." About.com. Accessed June 30, 2015. http://atheism.about.com/library/FAQs/phil/blfaq_phileth_desc.htm.

Note Template

Author, "Webpage Title," Website Title, Date, URL.

Note (with date)

6. David B. Resnik, "What is Ethics in Research & Why Is it Important?," National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, May 1, 2011, http://www.niehs.nih.gov/research/resources/bioethics/whatis/.

Note (no date)

7. Austin Kline, "Descriptive Ethics," About.com, accessed June 30, 2015, http://atheism.about.com/library/FAQs/phil/blfaq_phileth_desc.htm.

View the "Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Citing Web Resources" tutorial

 

YouTube Video

Bibliography Template

Creator. "Video Title." Date. Video type, length. URL.

Bibliography

History. "America the Story of Us: Declaration of Independence." April 23, 2010. YouTube video, 3:59 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yb7MI8NQLoo.

Note Template

Creator, "Video Title," Date, Video type, length, URL.

Note

8. History, "America the Story of Us: Declaration of Independence," April 23, 2010, YouTube video, 3:59 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yb7MI8NQLoo.

View the "Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Citing Videos" tutorial

Portions of this libguide have been adapted from Santa Fe College Chicago libguide - linked here

If you need more citation support beyond the links shared here contact the librarian!

email: sara.mautino@okstate.edu
call: 744-6034
book an appointment with me!

VVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV