Study Abroad Library Resources: Home
This guide provides links to and descriptions of resources that may be useful to OSU students and faculty who are studying abroad.
- Remote Access to Library ResourcesAccessing OSU Library resources from another country is just like accessing resources from any other off-campus location. Just log-in with your OKEY credentials and navigate databases and other resources in that same browser window.
Using the OSU Library While Abroad
- Finding and Using an E-bookOnce you are logged-in, do a search for your topic of interest and be sure to limit your search to books/E-books. Once you get some results, you can limit them to full-text online and go from there by clicking the online access link on a selected result and then selecting any full-text available links. Each E-book looks a bit different depending on the publisher or vendor that is providing it, so don't be afraid to experiment with different searches and options.
- Accessing Databases and ArticlesOnce logged-in, you will have access to our hundreds of databases. You can go to a specific database to perform a search or use the broad search from the Library homepage to search through multiple databases. Be careful though, because that general search can sometimes provide too many results.
- Subject GuidesIf you need help figuring out which databases to use or what resources are available, check out one of our subject guides. You can also identify the appropriate librarian who could assist you in finding information.
- Interlibrary Loan for Articles and Book ChaptersNeed an article or book chapter, but we don't have access to it through our databases? You can ask to have another library scan it and send it using interlibrary loan. Obviously, this won't work for borrowing physical items when you are abroad, but for articles and some book chapters, you will receive a scanned document.
Don't forget to log-in for off-campus access
- FrommersAssorted print and E-Book travel guides published by Frommers. Note publication date for currency.
- Lonely PlanetAssorted E-Book travel guides published by Lonely Planet. Note publication date for currency.
- Rough GuidesAssorted print travel guides published by Rough Guides. Note publication date for currency.
Languages and International Contexts and Cultures
Don't forget to log-in for off-campus access
- Contemporary World DramaThis collection examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context. Contemporary World Drama brings together new work from our existing playwright partners alongside work from up-and-coming playwrights from around the world, including recently produced world premieres, previously unpublished works, etc. from every continent.
- Contemporary World MusicContemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
- Country Information and International OrganizationsLinks to resources that provide general information and statistics on countries worldwide.
- EthnologueQuickly find what you need for any language – from populations to maps, dialects, usage, and more.
- Europa World PlusEuropa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
- Intercultural Learning: Critical Preparation for International Student Travel (PDF)(Links opens PDF) Intercultural learning: Critical preparation for international student travel aims to take students beyond practical preparation, to equip them with a critical lens through which to view and understand their international experiences. The book leads students toward a deeper understanding of culture and cultural difference through an exploration of challenging concepts such as imperialism, racism, privilege and intercultural practice.
- Mango LanguagesFREE FOR OSU STUDENTS, BUT YOU MUST STILL CREATE AN ACCOUNT. Mango prepares learners for realistic conversations and communication in over 70 world languages.
- New York Times SubscriptionUse this guide to set up your free NYT account.
- Smithsonian Global SoundSmithsonian Global Sound is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
- Websites on Languages and CulturesGuide maintained by OSU Liaison Librarian for the Foreign Languages and Literature program.