Final Metadata Review: Proposed Criteria and Workflow Between Archives, Scanning Services, and Metadata for Improved Digitization and Online Publication of Analog Collection Content
This LibGuide is intended to better identify criteria and needs in preparing and submitting collection metadata for final review. The steps proposed in this LibGuide are an effort to clarify the necessary steps and procedures for preparing good quality m
Metadata Development & Preliminary Review (Archives)
(For these steps prior to final metadata review, we recommend returning the collection to Archives and the original processing team, as the persons most familiar with the collection content.)
10. Proceed in creating metadata for the digitized images according to guidelines in the data dictionary.
11. Establish and enforce consistent style practices for free-text title and description fields:
Use of single or double quotation marks
Use of complete sentences vs. noun phrases for the description field. (Follow title practices as stipulated in the data dictionary.)
Determine the consistent inclusion or exclusion of language likely to reoccur throughout a collection, such as terms best summarized in the overall collection name/theme (e.g., “Chilocco,” “Oklahoma A&M College”)
Create an authority list of names for people and places by which you may refer to them consistently.You may indicate variations of the name as they may appear in transcriptions, but for consistency of description and titling (especially titling), strive to identify a preferred name by which to refer to a person, place, or event throughout the collection.
E.g., “Home 1” vs. “Home One”
E.g., “Marta Grant” vs. “M. Grant” vs. “Mrs. Grant”
12. Upon completion of all metadata, open each file and compare the description to the content.
Verify the metadata associated with the file is the correct metadata.
Confirm the title and description are accurate to the content.
Accuracy will include precision of vocabulary used.
E.g., a description that describes a man as smoking a “cigar” may be considered inaccurate if the photograph reveals the man to be smoking a “pipe.”
Edit titles and descriptions according to established standardized practices. These include:
Guidelines as established by the metadata team in the data dictionary, and
Language practices and authority terms as stipulated by the department
Run a spellcheck
Remove any internal commentary, notes, and questions left by processing students/staff