Music: Reference and Journal Article Databases
This guide covers finding music and scores at the OSU Library as well as using audio and scores databases and music research databases
Music Reference Databases
These databases contain electronic versions of standard music reference books. You will need to log in with your OSU email address and O-Key password to access these databases off-campus. Click HERE to log in.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium offers searchable articles from online reference works published by Oxford University Press. The "Performing Arts" category under Subject Reference includes several online dictionaries and reference guides on music, opera, musical theater, and dance.
- Oxford History of Western Music is an interactive, online edition of all five volumes of noted musicologist Richard Taruskin's 2009 history of classical music in Europe and the Americas. Users can search or browse the full text all 69 chapters, notes, bibliographies, 500 images, 1,800 musical examples, and more than 1,7000 links to relevant entries in Oxford Music Online (see above for more information on this database).
- Oxford Music Online Access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and over 52,000 articles.
Music Journal Article Databases
These databases search for journal articles on music, music history, music theory, pedagogy, ethnomusicology, and other aspects of music research. You will need to log in with your OSU email address and O-Key password to access these databases off-campus. Click HERE to log in.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (via EBSCO) is a comprehensive bibliography of writings on music serving the global music research community, including some full-text journal articles. RILM has over 600,000 records in 214 languages from 151 countries.
- JSTOR has the full text of over 80 journals on music, music history, and theory for dates ranging from the 1930s to the last decade. Articles are in PDF format.
- Project MUSE has the full text of articles from the last decade for selected music journals and journals in various fields of the humanities and other disciplines.
- Humanities International Complete from EBSCO includes records for articles from over 2,000 journals (full text for over 1,200 journals), books, and other publications in the humanities, including many aspects of music.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface) is the database for research on education topics with links to many full-text articles. It contains articles on music education, music curricula, and pedagogy (as well as orchestras or bands in schools).
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global has the full text of doctoral dissertations in many different fields from universities in the United States and beyond. OSU dissertations from 1961 to the present are included, and the database has dissertations from many universities from the late 1990s to the present.
- ProQuest Research Library is a general database indexes over 4,700 journals, magazines, and newspapers many subject fields from approximately 1970 to the present, and includes full-text articles from over 3,300 journals.
- Academic Search Premier from EBSCO has citations and abstracts from over 8,500 journals (4,600 with full-text articles) from 1975 to the present.