Biochemistry: Databases and Selected web sources
A guide to OSU library resources for students and staff in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
SpringerMaterials - provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields. Included are the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and other integrated resources.
Cambridge Structural Database - A highly curated and comprehensive resource that is essential to scientists around the world. Established in 1965, the CSD is the world's repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures.
Springer Protocols - SpringerProtocols is the largest subscription-based online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. Compiling protocols from the book series Methods in Molecular Biology and other sources, SpringerProtocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years of tested, trusted, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in the lab
Knovel Critical Tables - Featuring critical physical properties of more than 13,000 chemical compounds. Most of the tables are in searchable PDF format. Updated on a regular basis.
ChemDraw - ChemDraw is a scientific productivity suite designed for students, faculty and researchers in chemistry major, biochemistry, microbiology. OSU provides access to the site license for this software at http://sitelicense.cambridgesoft.com/sitelicense.cfm?sid=54. In order to download the software from this screen, sign in using your O-Key ID and password. Then you will be prompted to create a new log-in ID/PW with PerkinElmer. After you sign up and download the software, you should receive renewal email reminders.
OriginLab - is a scientific and graphing software. Individuals wishing to download the software should contact the A & S Help desk at X6844 or email firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
Selected web sources
Binding Database is a public, web-accessible database of measured binding affinities, focusing chiefly on the interactions of protein considered to be drug-targets with small, drug-like molecules.
BRENDA the Comprehensive Enzyme Information System.
CMS Molecular Biology Resource portal to Data Analysis Tools & Databases.
Molecules of Life biochemical molecules
The Human Metabolome Database is a freely available electronic database containing detailed information about small molecule metabolites found in the human body.
Lipid Bank The official database of Japanese Conference on the Biochemistry of Lipids (JCBL).
RCSB Protein Data Bank is a crystallographic database for the three-dimensional structural data of large biological molecules, such as proteins and nucleic acids.
Proteopedia The free, collaborative 3D-encyclopedia of proteins & other molecules (ISSN 2310-6301).
bioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution.