Skip to Main Content

Biochemistry: Finding articles within journals

A guide to OSU library resources for students and staff in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Key Databases

SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, indexing journal articles and paten records, as well as chemical substances and reactions. Chemical Abstracts Service.

Science Direct 
Science Direct provides abstract and full-text to over 2500 journals from several publishers. Elsevier.

SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

 

Annual Reviews 
Access provided by Oklahoma State University.  It provides comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. All Annual Reviews series are ranked within the top ten publications for their respective disciplines.  One can sign up for eTOC email alerts.
Annual Reviews is the non-profit publisher of a collection of 46 review series in specific disciplines in science and social science.

PUBMED 
PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

AGRICOLA 
Created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). It covers agriculturally-related subjects including: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. National agricultural Library (NAL).