Screen Studies: Television, Film & Media Websites
Film and Television Directories/Catalogs
There are several free Web directory resources that are useful for looking up film and television production information, credits, and even research information.
- American Film Institute (AFI) is the leading nonprofit organization for the preservation of American film. This site contains the AFI Top 100 lists, and other information about American film conservation efforts.
- The AFI Catalog Advanced Search is a powerful search tool for film production credit information for 60,000+ films with summaries and notes aimed at students and film scholars. Catalog listings for films are comprehensive for films before 1974, but after that are selective.
- British Film Institute (BFI) is the site for the internationally-known British Film Institute, and provides a database of film and television titles, filmographies of over 1.2 million people, and extensive research guides.
- The BFI Film & TV Database has information on British and international film and television titles, people, organizations, etc.
- Internet Movie Database (IMDB) is an in-depth directory of films, directors, actors, and film industry information. It covers film, television, video games, and other visual media.
- The IMDB Advanced Title Search allows complex searches for film and television series/episodes by nationality, date, language, and other limits.
Additional Web Resources
The sites below are also good for information and educational guides related to film.
- UCLA Library Film & Television Guide is a comprehensive research resource, which includes Industry data.
- CineSpot.com offers reviews, box office charts, sections on genres, and links to general information on the film industry.
- Encyclopedia of Television from the Museum of Broadcast Communications Web site includes more than 1,000 original essays from more than 250 contributors and examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes and such topics as violence, tabloid television and the quiz show scandal. It also includes histories of major television networks as well as broadcasting systems around the world and is complemented by resource materials, photos and bibliographical information.
- Film Education provides award-winning teaching resources, teacher training and cinema based events which support the use of film within the curriculum.
- Internet Archive - Moving Image Archive contains free movies, films, and videos. This library contains thousands of digital movies, out-of-copyright films, and other videos uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films in many genres, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to documentaries, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
- The Movie Review Query Engine is the Internet’s largest database of movie reviews for over 100,000 titles. The continually growing site provides a searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies.
- Moving Image Source from the Museum of the Moving Image is a gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media.
- ScreenSite is a film studies portal designed for studying visual style in film.
- The Silent Era is a large collection of news items and other information related to silent films. It contains filmographies, lists of lost films, and articles on the early cinema.