Managing Research Data: Data Repositories

tDAR is an international digital archive and repository that houses data about archaeological investigations, research, resources, and scholarship. tDAR provides researchers new avenues to discover and integrate information relevant to topics they are studying

Use Open Context to discover, reference, and publish primary data and documentation collected in archaeology and other field sciences by professional researchers

NASA's archive of data for over 3 million extragalactic objects

NASA's High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center

NASA's science and data center for infrared astronomy

Archive for NASA space mission data

Download optical images of the sky. See also, SkyServer (http://cas.sdss.org/dr7/en/) for educational portal to the data

Small molecule crystal structures

Free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information

Archive for Crystal Structures generated by the Southampton Chemical Crystallography Group and the EPSRC UK National Crystallography Service

NCBI's repository of bioactivity/bioassay data and information for "small" molecules (i.e. not macromolecular). Both text-based and structure-based search tools are provided

Provided by Microsoft

Collection and sharing of data for scientific analysis of Internet traffic, topology, routing, performance, and security-related events is one of CAIDA's core objectives

Hosts developer libraries such as Ruby on Rails, IronRuby, jQuery, Perl

open APIs and Google projects like Google Gears, Android, Chromium

Includes projects such as Ubuntu, MySQL (code hosting)

One of the most popular open source code hosting facilities

Computational and Information Systems Laboratory archives data for atmospheric and geosciences research

The Open Data project is part of the NASA Open Government Initiative, and is intended to improve access to NASA data. This data catalog is a continually-growing listing of publicly available NASA datasets

open collaborative project that is developing cyberinfrastructure for integration of 3 and 4 dimensional earth science data

One of eight NASA Science Mission Directorate (SMD) DAACs that provide Earth science data, information, and services to research scientists, applications scientists, applications users, and students

The IRI Data Library is a powerful and freely accessible online data repository and analysis tool that allows a user to view, manipulate, and download over 400 climate-related data sets through a standard web browser

Data are one of the most valuable products of the Long-Term Ecological Research (LTER) Network program. The LTER Network seeks to inform the broader scientific community by providing open access to well designed and well documented databases via a Network-wide information system. Currently, the LTER Data Portal contains over 6000 metadata entries for ecological datasets contributed by 27 past and present LTER sites

The Marine Geoscience Data System (MGDS) provides free public access to data collected throughout the global oceans

Meteorology and paleoclimatology

World-wide marine environmental and ecosystem data

NSIDC offers hundreds of scientific data sets for research, focusing on the cryosphere and its interactions. Data are from satellites and field observations. All data are free of charge.

The Community Data Portal (CDP) is a collection of earth science datasets from NCAR, UCAR, UOP, and participating organizations. National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)- World-wide marine environmental and ecosystem data

Shared national network of 14 experimental facilities, collaborative tools, a centralized data repository, and earthquake simulation software.

Note that some data access is fee-based

One-stop for federal, state and local geographic data

GIS file repository and finding tool

Provides access to the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) Clearing House Network and the geodata.gov portal

Archive of datasets

MRI data

A digital repository that allows medical educators to deposit, discover, download, and re-use over 22,000 medical education resources.

Numerous databases with a genomic/proteomic focus

A virtual community of data, materials, and web-based neuroscience resources with the goal of enabling discovery and access to public research data and tools worldwide through an open source, networked environment

The Odum Institute provides services for researchers in managing, archiving and preserving social science data. The archive staff provide comprehensive data management consultation and support through all phases of the research lifecycle. The Institute houses one of the oldest and largest catalogs of machine readable data in the United States. The Odum Archive encourages researchers to deposit their data on any social science or health topic.

Lists NIH-supported data repositories that accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators (and others). Also included are resources that aggregate information about biomedical data and information sharing systems. The table can be sorted according by name and by NIH Institute or Center and may be searched using keywords so that you can find repositories more relevant to your data. Links are provided to information about submitting data to and accessing data from the listed repositories. Additional information about the repositories and points-of-contact for further information or inquiries can be found on the websites of the individual repositories.

database of bio-related repositories

One of the goals of the BIRN is to promote the sharing of data

Supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation (Grant #OCI-0830944) as one of the initial DataNets, DataONE will ensure the preservation, access, use and reuse of multi-scale, multi-discipline, and multi-national science data via three principle cyberinfrastucture elements and a broad education and outreach program

Digital Morphology library is a dynamic archive of information on 3D scans, animations, and high-resolution X-ray computed tomography of biological specimens

Dryad is an international repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences. It has been developed by the National Evolutionary Synthesis Center and the University of North Carolina Metadata Research Center

Gene expression data for plants and plant pathogens. It contains smaller databases for specific plants (e.g., BarleyBase (http://www.plexdb.org/plex.php?database=Barley)) as well as a variety of related tools.

Experimentally determined structures for macromolecules (protein and nucleic acids). The site includes search and visualization tools

Images of all cell types from all organisms, including intracellular structures and movies or animations demonstrating functions. This project relies upon the cell biology community to populate the library

High-energy physics reaction database of Numerical HEP scattering cross sections

Physical reference data and property tables

Includes nuclear structure, reaction and decay databases

A non-profit, membership-based data archive located at the University of Michigan. The Oklahoma State University membership allows students, staff, and faculty to access ICPSR data files and documentation for the purpose of academic research. The data available through ICPSR are raw, unanalyzed data which require statistical analysis.

They acquire, curate and provide access to the UK's largest collection of social and economic data

The Odum Institute provides services for researchers in managing, archiving and preserving social science data. The archive staff provide comprehensive data management consultation and support through all phases of the research lifecycle. The Institute houses one of the oldest and largest catalogs of machine readable data in the United States. The Odum Archive encourages researchers to deposit their data on any social science or health topic.