History: Find Background Information
Background Information databases
-
Very Short Introductions Very Short Introductions are published by Oxford University Press and offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. This collection includes over 600 e-books on topics in arts and humanities, history, law, literature, medicine and health, religion, science and mathematics, and social sciences.
-
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews provides over 50 journals that cover many disciplines, with access to both current and archived journal volumes.
-
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Access to more than 170 full-text Oxford dictionaries and reference works. There are over 1.5 million dictionary definitions with the dictionary updated continuously.
-
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Updated 3 times a year, the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology brings together over 2,000 articles and specially commissioned entries in order to clearly define the discipline of sociology for researchers and students.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American Studies Oxford Bibliographies offer in-depth research guides and overview articles within academic subjects. Topic areas in the African American Studies bibliography include art, music, drama, and culture; history; individuals; law; literature; politics; religion; and sports.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Political Science Oxford Bibliographies offer in-depth research guides and overview articles within academic subjects. Topic areas in the Political Science bibliography include African politics, Asian politics, comparative politics, European politics, international relations, Latin American politics, methodologies, Middle Eastern politics, political psychology, political theory, and US politics.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Sociology Oxford Bibliographies offer in-depth research guides and overview articles within academic subjects. Topic areas in the sociology bibliography include crime and social justice, cultural sociology, economic sociology, gender and sexuality, health sociology, political sociology, race and ethnicity, research methods, social psychology, social theory, sociology of religion, and sociology of the family and life course.
-
Gale eBooks A database of encyclopedias, reference sources, and full-text eBooks that cover multiple disciplines.
-
CQ Researcher CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Finding background information sources in the library catalog
You can also do an Advanced Search, combining your keyword(s) with one or all of the following terms:
encyclopedias OR dictionaries OR handbooks OR companion
