Plant and Soil Sciences: Recommended Journal Article Databases
SCOPUS is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research..
Agricola - Created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), it covers animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Coverage: 1970 - present
CAB Direct - CAB Direct is the most thorough and extensive source of reference in the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health. CAB Direct provides a convenient, single point of access to all of your CABI database subscriptions.
Science Direct - This database is a scientific research index that contains journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Most of these are available full text online. (Elsevier publications)
Google Scholar - Google's search engine for scholarly research. It indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, online repositories, patents, legal cases, and more.
PubMed - PubMed (from the National Library of Medicine) includes information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. The majority of entries include abstracts.
Annual Reviews - Provides comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature.
PubAg - Contains more than 42,000 full-text journal articles on the agricultural sciences, in addition to nearly 1,723,868 citations (free to the public)