Architecture - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Primary Sources for Research
Resources addressing the diversity, equity, and inclusion in the architecture community.
- Digital Archaeological Archive of Comparative Slavery (DAACS)From the website: "Learn more about enslaved Africans and their descendants living in the Chesapeake, Carolinas, and Caribbean during the Colonial and Ante-Bellum Periods. Analyze and compare archaeological assemblages and architectural plans from different sites at unprecedented levels of detail. DAACS is a community resource, conceived and maintained in the Department of Archaeology at Monticello, in collaboration with the research institutions and archaeologists working throughout the Atlantic World."
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture's Digital Collections on "Architects"The Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division collects, preserves, and makes available for research purposes rare, unique, and primary materials that document the history and culture of people of African descent throughout the world, with a concentration on the Americas and the Caribbean.
*This link goes to a topic search for "Architects".
- Collaborative Architecture, Urbanism, and Sustainability Web ArchiveThe Collaborative Architecture, Urbanism, and Sustainability Web Archive (CAUSEWAY) is a joint initiative by the art and architecture librarians at Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Johns Hopkins, Harvard, Princeton, and Yale universities, and the universities of Chicago and Pennsylvania, under the auspices of the Ivy Plus Libraries partnership. This project aims to preserve websites devoted to the related topics of architecture, urban fabric, community development activism, public space and sustainability in order to guarantee the continuing availability of these important but potentially ephemeral documents for researchers and scholars.
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998)African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles. Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the world.
- American Indian newspapersAmerican Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago DefenderThe Chicago Defender, which was founded by Robert S. Abbott on May 5, 1905, once heralded itself as "The World's Greatest Weekly." The newspaper was the nation's most influential black weekly newspaper by the advent of World War I, with more than two thirds of its readership base located outside of Chicago. Coverage: 1909 - 1975