Linguistics and Teaching English as a Second Language (TESL): Citing Sources
There are several different style manuals that detail how to prepare citations in a bibliography. Each program or field of study in the English Department uses a specific style for preparing citations. In general, researchers in literature uses the Modern Language Association (MLA) Style for citing sources whereas researchers in linguistics/TESL program use the American Psychological Association (APA) style. Some programs such as screen studies and rhetoric and composition may also use the Chicago Manual of Style or the Turabian Style.
Instructors of composition courses or other courses in English may require a particular citation style for papers, so always check with your instructor or professor if you are unsure of which style to use.
Bibliographic Management Software & Online Style Guides
Zotero bibliographic management software helps you format citations in APA Style, MLA Style, and over 200 other bibliographic styles, and works with Microsoft Word to help you create your Works Cited/bibliography pages. Use the link below to learn about Zotero and find out about training opportunities:
These are some guides on the Web to MLA and other citation styles. They can be used help formulate citations, but consult the print style books if you have questions.
- Quick Guide to APA Style, 6th Ed. (OSU Library) is a quick reference page on how to cite common types of sources.
- APA Style is a FAQ page made by the American Psychological Association with supplemental material for owners of the print manual.
- Quick Guide to MLA Style (OSU Library) is a quick reference page on how to cite common types of sources.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): MLA is a detailed reference source on MLA Style.
- MLA Handbook Companion Site (MLA) NOTE: To use this site, you much purchase a copy of the 7th Ed. of the MLA Handbook and register an account.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Chicago Manual of Style is a detailed reference source on the 16th Ed. of the manual.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online (University of Chicago Press) NOTE: To use this site, you must purchase an individual subscription.
Citation Manuals in Print
Here are the most commonly used bibliographic citation styles in English and Composition courses:
- American Psychological Association (APA) Style
- Modern Language Association (MLA) Style
- Chicago Manual of Style/Turabian Style
Below are the locations of the print editions of the citation manuals: