- Library
- Guides
- Library Guides
- William E. Brock Memorial Library
- Special Collections
William E. Brock Memorial Library: Special Collections
Official Website
(Selected) OSU Veterinary History Resources
The History of the College of Veterinary Medicine at Oklahoma State University by Call Number: 636.00711 W722hISBN: 9780914956297Publication Date: 1986Available in print:
-William E. Brock Memorial Library
-Edmon Low Library
-Special Collections/University Archives- Oklahoma Aggie ambition : early efforts, led by L.L. Lewis, to offer veterinary medical degrees and a mid-century leader, C.H. McElroy, who finally achieved the goal at Oklahoma Agricultural & Mechanical College by Call Number: 619.0071176 O405Ze9ISBN: 9781581070064Publication Date: 1998Available in print:
-William E. Brock Memorial Library
-Edmon Low Library
-Special Collections/University Archives - Plexus and Vet CeteraCall Number: 636.08905 V585Available in print:
-William E. Brock Memorial Library
-Special Collections/University Archives
Plexus was published (1979-1997) at the request of alumni and friends of the Oklahoma State University College of Veterinary Medicine. In 1998, the publication was replaced by OSU Vet Cetera, which was designed to connect this college with its many stakeholders, providing information on both campus news and pertinent issues in the field of veterinary medicine. - Wendell Krull : trematodes & naturalists by Call Number: 619.0696 K94Ze9ISBN: 9781581070293Publication Date: 2001Available in print:
-William E. Brock Memorial Library
-Special Collections/University Archives
General Note:
"Reprint [of] five papers first published by Wendell Krull in the 1930s and 1950s, one by Miriam Rothschild in the 1930, and one of [S.A. Ewing's] published in 1997" - Organized veterinary medicine in the 46th state : the Oklahoma Veterinary Medical Association, 1907-2006 by Call Number: 636.0890966 E95oISBN: 9781581071269Available in print:
-William E. Brock Memorial Library
-Edmon Low Library
-Special Collections/University Archives 
College of Veterinary Medicine, Oklahoma State University, 1948-1988 : forty years of education, research and compassionCall Number: 619.00711 O41Zc6Publication Date: 1988
CVHS Oral History Transcripts
- Alexander, Joseph W. Joe Alexander, Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at Oklahoma State University (OSU) 1985-2001, discusses his tenure. He talks about some of the accomplishments in fundraising, with improving facilities and with recruiting faculty. Alexander also shares a few of the challenges he faced and describes his impressive career.
- Ewing, Sidney A. Sidney Ewing has served on the Oklahoma State University (OSU) faculty in various roles through the years including being head of the Veterinary Parasitology, Microbiology, and Public Health departments in the College of Veterinary Medicine. Ewing discusses his approach to teaching, research, outreach and administration, and talks about his parasite research. He also provides background on the history of the veterinary program at OSU dating back to the 1960s when he had his first stint at OSU.
- Friend, Jonathan Jonathan Friend, an Oklahoma State University (OSU) faculty member from 1948-1986, was a founding member of the College of Veterinary Medicine at OSU. He talks about his educational path as well as his career path and about the early days of the veterinary program at OSU. Friend shares memories of the department head, Dean McElroy, and various other faculty members. He also talks about his passion for teaching and farming.
- Johnson, Lester Lester Johnson joined the faculty of the Oklahoma State University College of Veterinary Medicine in 1954, six years after it opened, and retired after thirty years of remarkable service to the college and the veterinary medical profession in Oklahoma. He was one of the early pioneering faculty members who helped develop the college in its formative years.
- King, John M. John King graduated from Oklahoma A&M College (now Oklahoma State University) in 1955 from the College of Veterinary Medicine. King shares memories of Dean McElroy, of living in army barracks on campus, and of being a vet med student. He also talks about necropsy, various professors, and his 50-year career.
- Lorenz, Michael Michael Lorenz graduated from the College of Veterinary Medicine at Oklahoma State University (OSU) in 1969. He discusses his time as a student, a few favorite professors, and his fondness for OSU sports. Lorenz also talks about administrative positions in several universities as well as how the field of veterinary medicine has changed over the course of his career.
- Morgan, Patrick M. Patrick Morgan, Dean of the Oklahoma State University (OSU) College of Veterinary Medicine from 1977-1984, influenced much change during his tenure at OSU. He explains how he came to work at the Oklahoma State Department of Health with part-time faculty appointments at OSU and the University of Oklahoma. Morgan talks about his interest in epidemiology, the establishment of the Oklahoma Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory, and various changes within the college and professional field.
- Panciera, Roger Dr. Roger Panciera has contributed to the history and heritage and of the Oklahoma State University College of Veterinary Medicine for more than a half century. His legacy dates back to 1949 when he travelled from his home state of Rhode Island to enroll in the college and graduated in 1953 in the third class of the college. He earned his masters degree and PhD in pathology at Cornell University and returned to Stillwater in 1956 to accept a position on the faculty of the college.
- Thedford, Thomas R. Thomas Thedford was a member of the Oklahoma State University College of Veterinary Medicine faculty from 1965 through 1998. He shares childhood members of living and working on a farm. Thedford shares how he came to be a veterinarian and how he came to join the faculty at OSU. He talks about how the facilities and techniques have changed and recalls colleagues. He also discusses his work as an extension veterinarian and the places his work took him internationally.