Art, Graphic Design & Art History: ART 3413: Typography II

Film Research

Film Movements

A Dictionary of Film Studies

• film movement

• new waves

Wikipedia

• Category: Movements in cinema

The Criterion Collection

• Note: This link is listed for reference to the contents of the collection only, not for purchasing films

• Browse Criterion collections - scroll to the bottom of the page and/or search for a movement

Black Film Archive

• Devoted to Black cinema from 1915 to 1979. Presents films in their cultural context

• View the Black Film Archive register of films

IMDB

• Good for looking up dates and directors
• Search for a title or a director -- movements aren't listed with any consistency.

Additional Background Information

A Dictionary of Film Studies (ebook)  General film terminology, concepts, and history.

Oxford History of World Cinema  International film terminology, concepts, and history.

Magill's Cinema Annual  Reviews, ratings, and credits for domestic and foreign films released in the U.S.

Motion Picture Encyclopedias and Dictionaries  Other reference books available in the library and online.

Watch Films

Search for a Specific Film

Library Catalog

• The link above shows a search by Title -- replace the text "Rashomon" to search for a different Title
• To search for a director, change Title to Creator
• To see only DVDs or only streaming, scroll down to the results, then:
  • on left look for Refine my results > Availability, then choose one of these options:
    • Held by Library = DVD
    • Available Online = Streaming

Browse the Catalog to see what's available in the Library

Criterion Collection 

• Use the filters on the lower left to select Availability (DVD or streaming) and/or Subject (e.g. Foreign Films)

DVDs

• Check out DVDs from the Edmon Low Creative Studios on the 1st Floor of the Library. The Creative Studios is not open 24 hrs -- please check their hours here first.

• Each computer station in the Edmon Low Library is equipped with a DVD player. Additionally, the Edmon Low Creative Studios loans specialty viewing equipment, such as multi-region and VHS players.

Streaming

• Filter on the left or at the top of the page type additional words in the advanced search. 

Browse Film Databases