Skip to Main Content

Art, Art History & Graphic Design: Journal Articles

Selected journals

Articles in Journals

To find journal articles you may need to use an index or bibliography. These tools can be searched like the library catalog using names, keywords, phrases, word combinations, etc.  Some indexes will only provide a citation to the article while others may provide a full-text version. 

Art & Architecture Complete This database provides full-text coverage of more than 350 periodicals and 220 books. In addition, Art & Architecture Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, including the Art Newspaper and ARTnews. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images.

BHA Bibliography of the History of ArtAbstracts and indexes books, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogs, and articles from over 4300 periodicals, from 1991 - 2007, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present.

JSTOR. Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Project Muse.  Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content. 

America: History and Life. Bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries, covering over 2,000 US and foreign journals. Over 90% of the articles abstracted are published in English. Approximately 16,000 new entries are added each year.

Newspaper Source Plus.  Includes more than 700 full-text newspapers, providing nearly than 31 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 677,000 television and radio news transcripts. Titles include the Christian Science Monitor and the Los Angeles Times Indexes and abstracts of four national newspapers. 

New York Times1995 - present Updated daily