- Library
- Guides
- Library Guides
- Political Science
- Newspapers & Periodicals
Political Science: Newspapers & Periodicals
Historical Newspapers from OSU Libraries
- New York Times HistoricalExplore a comprehensive collection of archive materials from The New York Times, spanning from 1851 to four years before the current year. This collection contains a diverse array of content including front page stories, full articles, advertisements, obituaries, editorials, sports, cultural insights, letters to the editor, and more.
American Historic Newspapers
- TimesMachineFull page scans of historic New York Times
- New York Times Online - NYTimes.comUnlimited access on NYTimes.com and the NYTimes app. Must register to access. Click here for more info.
- New York Times Recent1980-present
- Wall Street JournalThe Wall Street Journal is a business-focused newspaper, covering the U.S. and abroad. Full-text 1984-present. Updated daily.
- Wall Street Journal HistoricAn online archive for the Wall Street Journal, with mostly full-text from 1889-1922, and then fully from 1923-2010.
- FactivaInternational news database, with national, international and regional newspapers (e.g., The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Guardian), magazines, journals and trade publications (e.g., Forbes, Newsweek , etc.), newswires, TV or radio podcasts (e.g., BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox , etc.), and more.
- ABI/InformBusiness and management research from U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, trade magazines, and regional business publications.
- American Indian NewspapersExplore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. Included are Oklahoma newspapers such as the Cherokee Phoenix, Cherokee Voices, Indian School Journal, Osage Nation News, and The Comanche Nation News.
- American Periodicals Series (Collection I)Over 1,000 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century
- Newspaper Source PlusProvides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA collection of over 3.5 million full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, that explores the perspectives of minorities since 1942.
- World Newspaper ArchiveFully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. Click on Places of Publication to limit by geography. Includes
- African Newspapers 1800-1925
- Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922
- South Asian Newspapers 1864-1922
Newspaper Archives Online
Newspaper Archives
- Internet Archive Historical NewspapersSearchable full-page scans of newspapers around the world
- Digital Public Library of AmericaAudio (including poetry recordings & oral histories), video, images, and archival materials in many other formats.
- HathiTrustA searchable library with over 17 million books, documents, and serial publications with more than 7 millions full-text works.
Oklahoma Newspapers
Oklahoma Newspapers
The Oklahoma Historical Society's Newspaper Archives is a good starting point if you are looking for a historic record of newspapers published across the state.
- The Gateway to Oklahoma HistoryProvides digitized full text of content published before 1923, including thousands of photographs, newspapers, maps, postcards, and books, dating from pre-statehood to the present day
- American Indian NewspapersExplore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. Included are Oklahoma newspapers such as the Cherokee Phoenix, Cherokee Voices, Indian School Journal, Osage Nation News, and The Comanche Nation News.
- The Daily O'Collegian/O'CollyFull text archive of the Oklahoma State University's student newspapers. Contains all issues from 1895 to 2008
- Tulsa WorldProvides coverage from 2000-2014.
Stillwater Newspapers
- The Stillwater AdvanceDigitized version of the early 20th century newspaper weekly newspaper published in Stillwater, Oklahoma Territory. Also available on microfilm.
- The Advance-DemocratDigitized version of the early 20th century newspaper weekly newspaper published in Stillwater, Oklahoma Territory. Also available on microfilm.
- Stillwater DemocratDigitized version of the early 20th century newspaper weekly newspaper published in Stillwater, Oklahoma Territory. Also available on microfilm.
The Oklahoman
- Oklahoman digital access (OSU, 1998-2018)Full text access from Newspaper Source, 1998-2018
- Oklahoman microfilm access (OSU, 1894-1984)Microfilm access from the OSU library (click to request from library annex)
- Oklahoman microfilm access (OSU, 1985-2003)Microfilm access from the OSU library (click to request from library annex)
- Oklahoman microfilm access (OSU, 2003-2016)Microfilm access from the OSU library (click to request from library annex)
- Oklahoman: print access (Stillwater Public Library, 1986-present)Print access from 1986-present
- Oklahoman digital access (Metropolitan (OKC) Library System’s databases, 1889-1922, 1981-present)People with a Pioneer (Norman) Library System card can get a reciprocal card from Metropolitan. This will give you access to the Oklahoman Collection (Full-text access to The Oklahoman from 1981 to now) and Newspapers.com (1889–1922 of the Oklahoman)
